

## General Faculties Council TEACHING & LEARNING COMMITTEE AGENDA

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

Tuesday, April 16, 2024, 2:00 p.m.

https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99971074364 passcode: 059504

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Benoit	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and the Academic Co-Chair	Benoit/Brown	Verbal	
Action	ı Items			
3.	Approval of the March 12, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Benoit	Document	
4.	Recommendation of Revisions to the TLC Terms of Reference	McVie	Document	2:10
Discus	ssion Items			<u> </u>
5.	M1 (Supporting Documentation) Academic Regulation Review	Turpin	Document	2:25
6.	Teaching and Learning Updates and Emerging Issues Roundtable	Brown/Benoit	Verbal	2:55
Inforn	nation Items			
7.	Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning Report	Kenny	Document	3:25
8.	Graduate Students' Association Report	Neprily	Verbal	3:30
9.	Students' Union Report	Amin	Verbal	3:35
10.	Approved Revisions to the 2024-2025 GFC and GFC Standing Committees Meeting Schedule and the 2025-2026 Meeting Schedule	In Package Only	Document	3:40
11.	Other Business			
12.	Adjournment Next Meeting: May 14, 2024	Benoit		3:40

General Faculties Co	Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting				
Wendy Benoit	Co-Chair, Interim Vice-Provost	Ex officio	n/a	
	(Teaching and Learning)			
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Assoc. Professor,	Appointed by	July 1, 2020 –	
	Werklund School of Education	Faculty	June 30, 2025	
Fabian Neuhaus	Assoc. Professor, School of	Appointed by	Oct 7, 2019 –	
	Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Faculty	June 30, 2024	
Dawn Johnston	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Arts	Appointed by	July 1, 2022 –	
		Faculty	June 30, 2025	
Scott Radford	Assoc. Professor, Haskayne School of	Appointed by	Jan 1, 2024 –	
	Business	Faculty	June 30, 2024	
Geoffrey Messier	Professor, Schulich School of	Appointed by	Jan 1, 2024 –	
	Engineering	Faculty	Dec 31, 2024	
William Bridel	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by	July 1, 2021 –	
		Faculty	June 30, 2024	
Evaristus	Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by	July 1, 2021 –	
Oshionebo		Faculty	June 30, 2024	
Fabiola Aparicio-	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Cumming	Appointed by	July 1, 2018 –	
Ting	School of Medicine	Faculty	June 30, 2024	
		,		
Tracey Clancy	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of	Appointed by	July 1, 2019 –	
	Nursing	Faculty	June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Appointed by	July 1, 2023 –	
		Faculty	June 30, 2024	
Hieu Ngo	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Social	Appointed by	July 1, 2021 –	
incu itgo	Work	Faculty	June 30, 2024	
		,		
Rebecca Archer	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of	Appointed by	July 1, 2022 –	
	Veterinary Medicine	Faculty	June 30, 2025	
Kathleen James	Librarian (Sessional)	Appointed by	Jan 1, 2024 –	
		LCR Council	June 30, 2024	
Dianne Gereluk	Dean, Werklund School of Education	Deans' Council	July 1, 2019 –	
Diamic Gereiak	Dean, Werkland School of Eddedton	rep	June 30, 2025	
		,	·	
Jennifer Markides	Assistant Professor, Werklund School	Appointed by	Sept 29, 2021 –	
	of Education	Vice-Provost	June 30, 2024	
		(Indigenous		
Const. East	Acceptable Books and Market and Color	Engagement)		
Sarah Eaton	Associate Professor, Werklund School	Appointed by	July 1, 2023 –	
	of Education	Vice-Provost	June 30, 2026	
Caralia A. I	March Breedlest (Ass. L. 1992)	(EDI)	NA: 4 2022	Last seed
Sandra Amin	Vice-President (Academic), Students'	SU rep	May 1, 2023 –	Last meeting
	Union (SU)		Apr 30, 2024	
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate	GSA rep	May 1, 2023 –	Last meeting
	Students' Association (GSA)		Apr 30, 2024	

Non-Voting					
Michelle Drefs	Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education and Member of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	Sept 20, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost (Student Experience)	Ex officio	n/a		
Mary Jo Romaniuk	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural Resources)	Ex officio	n/a		
Trevor Poffenroth	Chief Information Officer	Ex officio	n/a		
Natasha Kenny	Senior Director of the Taylor Institute	Ex officio	n/a		
D'Arcy Norman	Associate Director, Learning Technologies & Design, Taylor Institute	Appointed by TI Senior Director	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Justine Wheeler	Librarian	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Barb McCutcheon	Scheduling Coordinator	AUPE rep	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2024		
Vui Kien Liau	Associate Director - Tech Programs	MaPS rep	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Secretariat Staff					
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Elizabeth Sjogren					
Guests					
Observers					
Jessie Dinh	Incoming Students' Union Vice-President (Academic)				
Alexandria Poppendorf	Incoming Graduate Students' Association Vice-President (Academic)				
Ken Lane	Director - IT Solutions & Service Delivery – attending for Trevor Poffenroth				
Caroline O'Shea	Project Associate, Student and Enrolmer	tem 5			