

## General Faculties Council TEACHING & LEARNING COMMITTEE AGENDA

Tuesday, March 12, 2024, 2:00 p.m.

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99971074364 passcode: 059504

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time	
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Benoit	Document	2:00	
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and the Academic Co- Chair	Benoit/Brown Verbal			
Action	ltems				
3.	Approval of the February 13, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Benoit	Document		
Discus	sion Items				
4.	2023 National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) Institutional Results	Benoit/Turpin/ Kenny/Parry/ Lambert/Arseneault	y/Parry/ PowerPoint		
5.	M1 (Supporting Documentation) Academic Regulation Review	Turpin	Document + PowerPoint	2:35	
6.	Revisions to the TLC Terms of Reference	McVie	Document	3:00	
7.	Teaching and Learning Updates and Emerging Issues Roundtable	Brown/Benoit	Verbal	3:25	
Inform	nation Items		I		
8.	Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning Report	Kenny	Document	3:40	
9.	Graduate Students' Association Report	Neprily	Verbal	3:45	
10.	Students' Union Report	Amin	Verbal	3:50	
11.	Other Business				
12.	Adjournment Next Meeting: April 16, 2024	Benoit		3:55	

General Faculties C	Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting		•		
Wendy Benoit	Co-Chair, Interim Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)	Ex officio	n/a	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2025	
Fabian Neuhaus	Assoc. Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	Oct 7, 2019 – June 30, 2024	
Dawn Johnston	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Scott Radford	Assoc. Professor, Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	Jan 1, 2024 – June 30, 2024	
Geoffrey Messier	Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2024	
William Bridel	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Evaristus Oshionebo	Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Fabiola Aparicio- Ting	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Tracey Clancy	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024	
Hieu Ngo	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Rebecca Archer	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Kathleen James	Librarian (Sessional)	Appointed by LCR Council	Jan 1, 2024 – June 30, 2024	
Dianne Gereluk	Dean, Werklund School of Education	Deans' Council rep	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Jennifer Markides	Assistant Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	Sept 29, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Sarah Eaton	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (EDI)	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Sandra Amin	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	

Non-Voting					
Michelle Drefs	Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education and Member of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	Sept 20, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost (Student Experience)	Ex officio	n/a		
Mary Jo Romaniuk	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural Resources)	Ex officio	n/a		
Trevor Poffenroth	Chief Information Officer	Ex officio	n/a		
Natasha Kenny	Senior Director of the Taylor Institute	Ex officio	n/a		
D'Arcy Norman	Associate Director, Learning Technologies & Design, Taylor Institute	Appointed by TI Senior Director	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Justine Wheeler	Librarian	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Barb McCutcheon	Scheduling Coordinator	AUPE rep	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2024		
Vui Kien Liau	Associate Director - Tech Programs	MaPS rep	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Secretariat Staff	·				
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Elizabeth Sjogren					
Guests	•				
Garrett Parry	Graduate Assistant (Research), Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning – for Item 4				
Jacqueline Lambert	Institutional Analyst, Office of Institutional Analysis – for Item 4				
Robin Arseneault	Teaching and Learning Project Coordinator, Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning – for Item 4				
Observers	<u> </u>				