

General Faculties Council TEACHING & LEARNING COMMITTEE AGENDA

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

Tuesday, October 17, 2023, 2:00 p.m.

https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99971074364 passcode: 059504

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Reid	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and the Academic Co-Chair	Reid	Verbal	
Action	Items			
3.	Approval of the September 19, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Reid	Document	
Discus	sion Items			
4.	Changes to the Academic Regulations: Section E (Course Information) & G (Examinations and Tests)	Dambrowitz/Wood/ Reid	Document	2:10
5.	Update from the Course Feedback Implementation Working Group (CFIWG): General Faculties Council Discussion and Feedback, Next Steps	Reid/Wyatt/ Arsenault	Verbal	2:40
6.	Teaching and Learning Updates and Emerging Issues (Roundtable)	Reid	Verbal	3:00
Inform	nation Items			
7.	Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning Report	Kenny Document		3:30
8.	Graduate Students' Association Report	Neprily	Verbal	3:35
9.	Students' Union Report	Amin	Verbal	3:40
10.	Other Business			
11.	Adjournment Next Meeting: November 21, 2023			3:45

General Faculties Co	Quorum = 10				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes	
Voting					
Leslie Reid	Co-Chair, Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)	Ex officio	n/a		
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2025		
Fabian Neuhaus	Assoc. Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	Oct 7, 2019 – June 30, 2024		
Dawn Johnston	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Leighton Wilks	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024		
Yani Jazayeri	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2025		
William Bridel	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Evaristus Oshionebo	Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Fabiola Aparicio- Ting	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024		
Tracey Clancy	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025		
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024		
Hieu Ngo	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Rebecca Archer	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Heather Ganshorn	Librarian	Appointed by LCR Council	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Dianne Gereluk	Dean, Werklund School of Education	Deans' Council rep	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025		
Jennifer Markides	Assistant Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	Sept 29, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Sarah Eaton	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (EDI)	July 1, 2023-June 30, 2026		
Sandra Amin	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024		
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024		

Non-Voting				
Michelle Drefs	Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education and Member of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	Sept 20, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost (Student Experience)	Ex officio	n/a	
Mary Jo Romaniuk	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural Resources)	Ex officio	n/a	
Trevor Poffenroth	Chief Information Officer	Ex officio	n/a	
Natasha Kenny	Senior Director of the Taylor Institute	Ex officio	n/a	
D'Arcy Norman	Associate Director, Learning Technologies & Design, Taylor Institute	Appointed by TI Senior Director	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Justine Wheeler	Librarian	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Barb McCutcheon	Scheduling Coordinator	AUPE rep	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2024	
Vui Kien Liau	Associate Director - Tech Programs	MaPS rep	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie	ney McVie University Secretary			
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe			
Guests				
Amy Dambrowitz	Registrar – for Item 4			
Vanessa Wood	Deputy Registrar – for Item 4			
Nicole Wyatt	Academic Co-Chair, CFIWG – for Item 5			
Robin Arseneault	Arseneault Member, CFIWG – for Item 5			
Observers	I.		I	