

General Faculties Council TEACHING & LEARNING COMMITTEE AGENDA

Tuesday, September 19, 2023, 2:00 p.m.

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99971074364 passcode: 059504

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time				
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Reid Document		2:00				
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and the Academic Co- Chair	Reid/Brown	Verbal					
Committee Orientation								
3.	Committee-Specific Orientation	McVie PowerPoint		2:10				
4.	Committee Welcome – Touchstones	Brown/Reid	Document	2:25				
Discus	Discussion Items							
5.	Update from the Course Feedback Implementation Working Group (CFIWG) – Revised New Core Questions for Course Surveys	Reid/Wyatt & members of CFIWG	Document	2:45				
6.	Operational Plan – Academic Plan	Yates	Verbal	3:15				
7.	Teaching and Learning Updates and Emerging Issues (Roundtable)	Brown/Reid	Verbal	3:25				
Inform	Information Items							
8.	Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning Report	Kenny	Document	3:45				
9.	Graduate Students' Association Report	Neprily	Verbal	3:50				
10.	Students' Union Report	Amin	Verbal	3:55				
11.	Other Business							
12.	Adjournment Next Meeting: October 17, 2023			4:00				

General Faculties Co	Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting				
Leslie Reid	Co-Chair, Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)	Ex officio	n/a	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2025	
Fabian Neuhaus	Assoc. Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	Oct 7, 2019 – June 30, 2024	
Dawn Johnston	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Leighton Wilks	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Yani Jazayeri	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2025	
William Bridel	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Evaristus Oshionebo	Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Fabiola Aparicio- Ting	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Tracey Clancy	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024	First meeting
Hieu Ngo	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Rebecca Archer	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Heather Ganshorn	Librarian	Appointed by LCR Council	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Dianne Gereluk	Dean, Werklund School of Education	Deans' Council rep	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Jennifer Markides	Assistant Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	Sept 29, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Sarah Eaton	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (EDI)	July 1, 2023-June 30, 2026	First meeting
Sandra Amin	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	

Non-Voting						
Michelle Drefs	Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education and Member of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	Sept 20, 2021 – June 30, 2024			
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost (Student Experience)	Ex officio	n/a			
Mary Jo Romaniuk	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural Resources)	Ex officio	n/a			
Trevor Poffenroth	Chief Information Officer	Ex officio	n/a			
Natasha Kenny	Senior Director of the Taylor Institute	Ex officio	n/a			
D'Arcy Norman	Associate Director, Learning Technologies & Design, Taylor Institute	Appointed by TI Senior Director	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024			
Justine Wheeler	Librarian	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024			
Barb McCutcheon	Scheduling Coordinator	AUPE rep	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2024			
Vui Kien Liau	Associate Director - Tech Programs	MaPS rep	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	First meeting		
Secretariat Staff						
Courtney McVie	University Secretary					
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe					
Guests						
Nicole Wyatt	Academic Co-Chair, CFIWG – for Item 5					
Robin Arseneault	Member, CFIWG – for Item 5					
Carla Bertsch	Member, CFIWG – for Item 5					
Brianne Burkinshaw	Member, CFIWG – for Item 5					
Jackie Lambert	Member, CFIWG – for Item 5					
Erin Spring	Member, CFIWG – for Item 5					
Aruna Srivastava	Member, CFIWG – for Item 5					
Fouzia Usman	Member, CFIWG – for Item 5					
Robin Yates	Deputy Provost – for Item 6					
Observers						