

General Faculties Council TEACHING & LEARNING COMMITTEE AGENDA

Tuesday, May 16, 2023, 2:00 p.m.

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Reid	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and the Academic Co-Chair	Reid/Brown	Verbal	
Action	ı Item	1		
3.	Approval of the April 18, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Reid	Document	
Discus	sion Items			
4.	Update from the Course Feedback Implementation Working Group (CFIWG) – Feedback on Draft Core Questions	Reid/Wyatt & members of CFIWG	Document + PowerPoint	2:10
5.	Calendar Updates: Course Outlines (Section E) & Tests and Assessments (Section G)	Brown/Reid	Document	3:00
6.	Annual Committee Performance Review and Review of the TLC Terms of Reference	Reid/Brown	Document	3:15
Inform	nation Items			
7.	Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning Report	Kenny	Verbal	3:25
8.	Graduate Students' Association Report	Neprily	Verbal	3:30
9.	Students' Union Report	Amin	Verbal	3:35
10.	Other Business			
11.	Adjournment Next Meeting: September 19, 2023 (in-person, AD167)			3:40

General Faculties Co	General Faculties Council Teaching and Learning Committee						
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes			
Voting							
Leslie Reid	Co-Chair, Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)	Ex officio	n/a				
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2025				
Fabian Neuhaus	Assoc. Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	Oct 7, 2019 – June 30, 2024				
Dawn Johnston	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025				
Leighton Wilks	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024				
Yani Jazayeri	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2025				
William Bridel	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Evaristus Oshionebo	Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Fabiola Aparicio- Ting	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024				
Tracey Clancy	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025				
Wendy Benoit	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024				
Hieu Ngo	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Rebecca Archer	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025				
Heather Ganshorn	Librarian	Appointed by LCR Council	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Dianne Gereluk	Dean, Werklund School of Education	Deans' Council rep	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025				
Jennifer Markides	Assistant Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	Sept 29, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Vacant		Appointed by Vice-Provost (EDI)					
Sandra Amin	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	First meeting			
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	First meeting			

Non-Voting					
Michelle Drefs	Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of	Appointed by	Sept 20, 2021 –		
	Education and Member of the Faculty	the FGS Dean	June 30, 2024		
	of Graduate Studies (FGS) Council				
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost (Student Experience)	Ex officio	n/a		
Mary Jo Romaniuk	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural	Ex officio	n/a		
	Resources)	- cc	,		
Trevor Poffenroth	Chief Information Officer	Ex officio	n/a		
Natasha Kenny	Senior Director of the Taylor Institute	Ex officio	n/a		
D'Arcy Norman	Associate Director, Learning	Appointed by	July 1, 2021 –		
	Technologies & Design, Taylor Institute	TI Senior Director	June 30, 2024		
Justine Wheeler	Librarian	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2021 –	Last meeting?	
Justine Whiteler	Librarian	ТОСГАТСР	June 30, 2023	Last meeting:	
Barb McCutcheon	Scheduling Coordinator	AUPE rep	July 1, 2020 –	Last meeting?	
		1.0.2.00	June 30, 2023		
Brenda	Manager - Accessible Testing, Student	MaPS rep	Aug 7, 2020 –	Last meeting?	
McDermott	Accessibility Services		<mark>June 30, 2023</mark>		
Secretariat Staff					
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe				
Guests					
Nicole Wyatt	Academic Co-Chair, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Robin Arseneault	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Carla Bertsch	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Brianne	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Burkinshaw					
Jackie Lambert	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Erin Spring	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Aruna Srivastava	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Fouzia Usman	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Observers					
2.35.15.0					