

General Faculties Council TEACHING & LEARNING COMMITTEE AGENDA

Tuesday, April 18, 2023, 2:00 p.m. Zoom link: https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99971074364 passcode: 059504

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time	
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Reid	Document	2:00	
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and the Academic Co-Chair	Reid	Verbal		
Action	Item	1			
3.	Approval of the March 14, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Reid	Document		
Discus	sion Items				
4.	Work Update from the Course Feedback Implementation Working Group (CFIWG)	Reid/Wyatt & members of CFIWG	Document	2:10	
5.	Teaching and Learning Round Table Discussion	Reid	Verbal	3:10	
Inform	nation Items				
6.	Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning Report	Kenny	Document	3:30	
7.	Graduate Students' Association Report	Steele	Verbal	3:35	
8.	Students' Union Report	Jinnah Morsette	Verbal	3:40	
9.	Approved GFC and GFC Standing Committees Meeting Schedules for 2023-2024 and 2024- 2025	In Package Only	Document	-	
10.	Other Business				
11.	Adjournment Next Meeting: May 16, 2023 (in-person, AD167)			3:45	

General Faculties Co	Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting				
Leslie Reid	Co-Chair, Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)	Ex officio	n/a	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023	
Fabian Neuhaus	Assoc. Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	Oct 7, 2019 – June 30, 2024	
Dawn Johnston	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Leighton Wilks	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Yani Jazayeri	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2025	
William Bridel	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Evaristus Oshionebo	Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Fabiola Aparicio- Ting	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Tracey Clancy	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Wendy Benoit	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Hieu Ngo	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Rebecca Archer	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Heather Ganshorn	Librarian	Appointed by LCR Council	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Dianne Gereluk	Dean, Werklund School of Education	Deans' Council rep	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Jennifer Markides	Assistant Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	Sept 29, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Vacant		Appointed by Vice-Provost (EDI)		
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2022 – Apr 30, 2023	
James Steele	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2022 – Apr 30, 2023	

Non-Voting					
Michelle Drefs	Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education and Member of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (FGS) Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	Sept 20, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost (Student Experience)	Ex officio	n/a		
Mary Jo Romaniuk	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural Resources)	Ex officio	n/a		
Trevor Poffenroth	Chief Information Officer	Ex officio	n/a		
Natasha Kenny	Senior Director of the Taylor Institute	Ex officio	n/a		
D'Arcy Norman	Associate Director, Learning Technologies & Design, Taylor Institute	Appointed by TI Senior Director	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Justine Wheeler	Librarian	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2023		
Barb McCutcheon	Scheduling Coordinator	AUPE rep	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023		
Brenda	Manager - Accessible Testing, Student	MaPS rep	Aug 7, 2020 –		
McDermott	Accessibility Services		June 30, 2023		
Secretariat Staff					
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe				
Guests					
Nicole Wyatt	Academic Co-Chair, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Jackie Lambert	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Brianne Burkinshaw	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Erin Spring	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Fouzia Usman	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Aruna Srivastava	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Carla Bertsch	Member, CFIWG – for Item 4				
Robin Arseneault Member, CFIWG – for Item 4					
Observers					
Sandra Amin	Incoming SU Vice-President (Academic)				
Kirsten Neprily	sten Neprily Incoming GSA Vice-President (Academic)				