

General Faculties Council TEACHING & LEARNING COMMITTEE AGENDA

Tuesday, December 13, 2022, 2:00 p.m. Zoom link: https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99971074364 passcode: 059504

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Reid	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and the Academic Co-Chair	Reid/Brown	Verbal	
Action	Item			
3.	Approval of the November 15, 2022 Meeting Minutes	Reid	Document	2:05
Discus	sion Items			
4.	New University of Calgary Teaching Award (Inclusive Excellence)	Reid/Ngo/Arsenault/ Bridel/Shajani/Usman	Document	2:10
5.	National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) 2020 Summary Report	Reid/Arsenault	Document	2:40
6.	Teaching and Learning Round Table	Brown	Verbal	3:00
Inform	nation Items			
7.	Course Feedback Implementation Working Group (CFIWG) Update	Brown/Reid	Verbal	3:30
8.	Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning Report	Kenny	Document	3:35
9.	Graduate Students' Association Report	Steele	Verbal	3:40
10.	Students' Union Report	Jinnah Morsette	Verbal	3:45
11.	Other Business			
12.	Adjournment Next Meeting: January 17, 2023 (in-person, A167)			3:50

General Faculties	Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Note
Voting				
Leslie Reid	Co-Chair, Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)	Ex officio	n/a	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023	
Fabian Neuhaus	Assoc. Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	Oct 7, 2019 – June 30, 2024	
Dawn Johnston	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Leighton Wilks	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Yani Jazayeri	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2025	
William Bridel	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Evaristus Oshionebo	Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Fabiola Aparicio- Ting	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Tracey Clancy	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Wendy Benoit	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Hieu Ngo	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Rebecca Archer	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Heather Ganshorn	Librarian	Appointed by LCR Council	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Dianne Gereluk	Dean, Werklund School of Education	Deans' Council rep	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Jennifer Markides	Assistant Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	Sept 29, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Vacant		Appointed by Vice-Provost (EDI)		
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2022 – Apr 30, 2023	
James Steele	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2022 – Apr 30, 2023	

Non-Voting					
Michelle Drefs	Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of	Appointed by	Sept 20, 2021 –		
	Education and Member of the Faculty of	the FGS Dean	June 30, 2024		
	Graduate Studies (FGS) Council				
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost (Student Experience)	Ex officio	n/a		
Mary Jo	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural	Ex officio	n/a		
Romaniuk	Resources)				
Trevor	Chief Information Officer	Ex officio	n/a		
Poffenroth					
Natasha Kenny	Senior Director of the Taylor Institute	Ex officio	n/a		
D'Arcy Norman	Associate Director, Learning	Appointed by	July 1, 2021 –		
	Technologies & Design, Taylor Institute	TI Senior	June 30, 2024		
		Director			
Justine Wheeler	Librarian	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2021 –		
			June 30, 2023		
Barb	Scheduling Coordinator	AUPE rep	July 1, 2020 –		
McCutcheon			June 30, 2023		
Brenda	Manager - Accessible Testing, Student	MaPS rep	Aug 7, 2020 –		
McDermott	Accessibility Services		June 30, 2023		
Secretariat Staff					
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe				
Guests					
Robin Arseneault	Teaching & Learning Project Coordinator,	Taylor Institute -	for Items 4 and 5		
Zahra Shajani	Associate Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing – for Item 4				
Fouzia Usman	Educational Development Consultant (Equity, Diversity & Inclusion), Taylor Institute – for Item 4				
	mattace for item 4				
Observers				1	
	<u> </u>			l .	