

General Faculties Council TEACHING & LEARNING COMMITTEE AGENDA

Tuesday, September 20, 2022, 2:00 p.m.

Governors Boardroom AD167

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time		
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Reid	Document	2:00		
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and the Academic Co-Chair	Reid/Brown	Verbal			
3.	Committee Orientation	Reid/Brown	PowerPoint	2:10		
Action	Items					
4.	Appointment of Academic Staff Members to the Course Feedback Implementation Working Group	Brown	Document	2:20		
Discuss	ion Items					
5.	Teaching and Learning Updates and Emerging Issues (Roundtable)	Reid/Brown	Verbal	3:30		
Information Items						
6.	Taylor Institute for Teaching and Learning Report	Kenny	Document	3:45		
7.	Graduate Students' Association Report	Steele	Verbal	3:50		
8.	Students' Union Report	Jinnah Morsette	Verbal	3:55		
9.	Other Business					
10.	Adjournment Next Meeting: October 18, 2022 (via Zoom)			4:00		



General Faculties (
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting				
Leslie Reid	Co-Chair, Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning)	Ex officio	n/a	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair, Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023	
Fabian Neuhaus	Assoc. Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	Oct 7, 2019 – June 30, 2024	
Dawn Johnston	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Leighton Wilks	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Yani Jazayeri	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2025	
William Bridel	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Evaristus Oshionebo	Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Fabiola Aparicio- Ting	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Tracey Clancy	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Wendy Benoit	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Hieu Ngo	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Rebecca Archer	Assoc. Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Heather Ganshorn	Librarian	Appointed by LCR Council	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Dianne Gereluk	Dean, Werklund School of Education	Deans' Council rep	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Jennifer Markides	Assistant Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	Sept 29, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Vacant		Appointed by Vice-Provost (EDI)		



Shaziah Jinnah	Vice-President (Academic), Students'	SU rep	May 1, 2022 –					
Morsette	Union (SU)		Apr 30, 2023					
James Steele	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate	GSA rep	May 1, 2022 –					
	Students' Association (GSA)		Apr 30, 2023					
Non-Voting	Non-Voting Non-Voting							
Michelle Drefs	Assoc. Professor, Werklund School of	Appointed by	Sept 20, 2021 –					
	Education and Member of the Faculty of	the FGS Dean	June 30, 2024					
	Graduate Studies (FGS) Council							
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost (Student Experience)	Ex officio	n/a					
Mary Jo	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural	Ex officio	n/a					
Romaniuk	Resources)							
Trevor	Chief Information Officer	Ex officio	n/a					
Poffenroth								
Natasha Kenny	Senior Director of the Taylor Institute	Ex officio	n/a					
D'Arcy Norman	Associate Director, Learning	Appointed by	July 1, 2021 –					
	Technologies & Design, Taylor Institute	TI Senior	June 30, 2024					
		Director						
Justine Wheeler	Librarian	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2021 –					
			June 30, 2023					
Barb	Scheduling Coordinator	AUPE rep	July 1, 2020 –					
McCutcheon			June 30, 2023					
Brenda	Manager - Accessible Testing, Student	MaPS rep						
McDermott	Accessibility Services							
Secretariat Staff								
Courtney McVie	University Secretary							
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe							
Guests								
Robin Arseneault	Teaching and Learning Project Coordinator			For Item 4				
Observers								