

General Faculties Council RESEARCH & SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE AGENDA

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

Thursday, April 18, 2024, 2:00 p.m.

https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/94689495393 passcode: 054031

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Thompson	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co-Chair	Thompson/Madigan	Verbal	
Action	Items			
3.	Approval of the February 15, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Thompson	Document	
4.	Recommendation of Revisions to the RSC Terms of Reference	McVie	Document	2:10
Inform	nation Items			
5.	High Performance Computing / Secure Research Computing / Research Software Update	Skone/Poffenroth/ Kowalchuk	Document + PowerPoint	2:20
6.	Strategic Initiatives and Research Intelligence Unit Update	Skone/Blough	Document + PowerPoint	2:45
7.	VPR Funding Programs a) Catalyst Grants Program b) Postdoctoral Match Funding Program c) Transdisciplinary Connector Grants Program	Ghali Sanders Milaney Bryant/Span-Smeelen	Document + PowerPoint	3:10
8.	Approved Revisions to the 2024-2025 GFC and GFC Standing Committees Meeting Schedule and the 2025-2026 Meeting Schedule	In Package Only	Document	3:40
9.	March 14, 2024 Meeting Notes	In Package Only	Document	
10.	Other Business			
11.	Adjournment Next Meeting: May 16, 2024			3:40



General Faculties (Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting				
Robert Thompson	Co-Chair, Associate Vice-President (Research)	Designate of Vice-President (Research)	n/a	
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair and Professor, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Alberto de	Associate Professor, School of	Appointed by	July 1, 2022 –	
Salvatierra	Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Faculty	June 30, 2025	
Piers Steel	Professor, Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Shelly Russell- Mayhew	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Raafat El-Hacha	Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Raylene Reimer DeBruyn	Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	January 1, 2023 – June 30, 2025	
Rudiger	Associate Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by	July 1, 2022 –	
Tscherning		Faculty	June 30, 2025	
Michael Hill	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Lorraine	Associate Professor, Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by	July 1, 2023 –	
Venturato		Faculty	June 30, 2026	
Marina Gavrilova	Professor, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	April 1, 2024 – June 30, 2024	First meeting
Aamir Jamal	Associate Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Faizal Abdul Careem	Professor, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	Feb 9, 2023 – June 30, 2025	
Stephanie Bishop	Postdoctoral Associate, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Postdoctoral Association	Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2024	
Sandra Amin	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	Last meeting
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	Last meeting
Vacant		ADRC rep		
David Anderson	Associate Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine and Member of FGS Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Mary-Jo	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural	Ex officio	n/a	
Romaniuk	Resources)			



Non-Voting					
Katrina Milaney	Associate Vice-President Research	Appointed by the VPR	Jan 18, 2024 – June 30, 2026	First meeting	
Hamid Habibi	Professor, Faculty of Science	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024		
Cristina Rai	Research Admin Specialist, Cumming School of Medicine	AUPE rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Thomas	Manager - Research Programs,	MaPS rep	Sept 15, 2020 –		
Oldenburg	Department of Geoscience		June 30, 2024		
Secretariat Staff					
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe				
Guests					
Bill Ghali	Vice-President (Research) – for Item 6 but may attend entire meeting				
Susan Skone	Associate Vice-President (Research) – for Items 5 and 6				
Trevor	evor Chief Information Officer – for Item 5				
Poffenroth					
Jill Kowalchuk	Interim IT Director, Research Computing Services – for Item 5				
Michael Blough	hael Blough Manager, Strategic Opportunities, Office of the VPR – for Item 6				
Barry Sanders	Scientific Director, Quantum City – for Item 7				
Steven Bryant	Academic Lead for Transdisciplinary Scholarship, Office of the VPR – for Item 7				
Mariska Span-	Manager, Transdisciplinary Scholarship, Office of the VPR – for Item 7				
Smeelen					
Observers					
Jessie Dinh	Incoming Students' Union Vice-President (Academic)				
Alexandria Poppendorf	Incoming Graduate Students' Association Vice-President (Academic)				
Торренион					