

General Faculties Council RESEARCH & SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE AGENDA

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

Thursday, February 15, 2024, 2:00 p.m.

https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/94689495393 passcode: 054031

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Thompson	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair	Thompson	Verbal	
Action	Items			
3.	Approval of the January 18, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Thompson	Document	
Inform	nation Items			
4.	University Innovation Quarter Update	Cragg/Thrale	Document + PowerPoint	2:10
5.	Social Innovation Initiative Update	Milaney/Benzies	Document + PowerPoint	2:30
6.	Institutes for Transdisciplinary Scholarship Update	Bryant	Document + PowerPoint	2:50
7.	International Research Update	Ruwanpura	Document + PowerPoint	3:10
8.	Other Business			
9.	Adjournment Next Meeting: March 14, 2024			3:30



General Faculties C	Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting				
Robert Thompson	Co-Chair, Associate Vice-President (Research)	Designate of Vice-President (Research)	n/a	
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair and Professor, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Alberto de Salvatierra	Associate Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Piers Steel	Professor, Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Shelly Russell- Mayhew	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Raafat El-Hacha	Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Raylene Reimer DeBruyn	Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	January 1, 2023 – June 30, 2025	
Rudiger Tscherning	Associate Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Michael Hill	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Lorraine Venturato	Associate Professor, Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Kris Innanen	Professor, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Aamir Jamal	Associate Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Faizal Abdul Careem	Professor, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	Feb 9, 2023 – June 30, 2025	
Stephanie Bishop	Postdoctoral Associate, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Postdoctoral Association	Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2024	
Sandra Amin	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	
Vacant		ADRC rep		
David Anderson	Associate Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine and Member of FGS Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Mary-Jo Romaniuk	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural Resources)	Ex officio	n/a	



Non-Voting						
Katrina Milaney	Associate Vice-President Research	Appointed by the VPR	Jan 18, 2024 – June 30, 2026			
Hamid Habibi	Professor, Faculty of Science	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024			
Cristina Rai	Research Admin Specialist, Cumming School of Medicine	AUPE rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024			
Thomas Oldenburg	Manager - Research Programs, Department of Geoscience	MaPS rep	Sept 15, 2020 – June 30, 2024			
Secretariat Staff	•					
Courtney McVie	University Secretary					
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe					
Guests						
Adam Cragg	UIQ Executive Director – for Item 4					
John Thrale	Program Manager, UIQ Business – for Item 4					
Katrina Milaney	Associate Vice-President Research – for Item 5					
Karen Benzies	Director, Social Innovation, Office of the VPR– for Item 5					
Steven Bryant	Academic Lead for Transdisciplinary Scholarship, Office of the VPR– for Item 6					
Janaka	Vice-Provost & Associate Vice-President Research (International) – for Item 7					
Ruwanpura						
Observers						