

General Faculties Council RESEARCH & SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE AGENDA

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

Thursday, November 23, 2023, 2:00 p.m.

https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/94689495393 passcode: 054031

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time				
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Thompson	Document	2:00				
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co-Chair	Thompson/Madigan	Verbal					
Action	Action Items							
3.	Approval of the September 21, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Thompson	Document					
Discuss	Discussion Items							
4.	Research and Innovation Plan	Thompson	Document	2:15				
Inform	Information Items							
5.	Quantum Update	Thompson/Sanders/Lee	Document + PowerPoint	3:00				
6.	Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERC) Update	Thompson	PowerPoint	3:30				
7	Oth or Ducinosa							
7.	Other Business							
8.	Adjournment Next Meeting: January 18, 2024			3:40				



General Faculties (Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting				
Robert Thompson	Co-Chair, Associate Vice-President (Research)	Designate of Vice-President (Research)	n/a	
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair and Professor, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Alberto de	Associate Professor, School of	Appointed by	July 1, 2022 –	
Salvatierra	Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Faculty	June 30, 2025	
Piers Steel	Professor, Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Shelly Russell- Mayhew	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Raafat El-Hacha	Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Raylene Reimer DeBruyn	Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	January 1, 2023 – June 30, 2025	
Rudiger	Associate Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by	July 1, 2022 –	
Tscherning		Faculty	June 30, 2025	
Michael Hill	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Lorraine	Associate Professor, Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by	July 1, 2023 –	
Venturato		Faculty	June 30, 2026	
Kris Innanen	Professor, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Aamir Jamal	Associate Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Faizal Abdul Careem	Professor, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	Feb 9, 2023 – June 30, 2025	
Stephanie Bishop	Postdoctoral Associate, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Postdoctoral Association	Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2023	
Sandra Amin	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2023 – Apr 30, 2024	
Vacant		ADRC rep		
David Anderson	Associate Professor (Teaching), Cumming School of Medicine and Member of FGS Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Mary-Jo	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural	Ex officio	n/a	
Romaniuk	Resources)			



Non-Voting						
Vacant	Associate Vice-President Research	Appointed by the VPR				
Hamid Habibi	Professor, Faculty of Science	TUCFA rep	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024			
Cristina Rai	Research Admin Specialist, Cumming School of Medicine	AUPE rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024			
Thomas	Manager - Research Programs,	MaPS rep	Sept 15, 2020 –			
Oldenburg	Department of Geoscience		June 30, 2024			
Secretariat Staff			·			
Courtney McVie	University Secretary					
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe					
Guests						
Barry Sanders	Scientific Director of Quantum – for Item 5					
Megan Lee	Director - Quantum City – for Item 5					
Observers						
Observers						
Lorna Very	Executive Director, Office of the Vice-President (Research) – for Item 4					