

General Faculties Council RESEARCH & SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE AGENDA

Thursday, April 20, 2023, 2:00 p.m.

Zoom: https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/94689495393 Passcode: 054031

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time		
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Thompson	Document	2:00		
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co-Chair	Thompson/Tam	Verbal			
Action	Items					
3.	Approval of the March 16, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Thompson	Document			
Discuss	sion Items					
4.	Revisions to the Research Integrity Policy and the Procedure for Investigating a Breach of Research Integrity	Book/Wigham	Document	2:10		
Information Items						
5.	VPR Catalyst Grants Program	MacIntyre	Document + PowerPoint	2:30		
6.	Transdisciplinary Connector Grants Program	Bryant	Document + PowerPoint	2:45		
7.	Research Computing Update	Skone/Yousif	Document + PowerPoint	3:00		
8.	Indigenous Research Update	Hart/Crowshoe	Document + PowerPoint	3:30		
9.	Approved GFC and GFC Standing Committees Meeting Schedules for 2023-2024 and 2024- 2025	In Package Only	Document	-		
10.	Other Business					
11.	Adjournment Next Meeting: May 18, 2023 (in-person, AD167)			4:00		



General Faculties C	Quorum = 10			
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting	•			
Robert Thompson	Co-Chair, Associate Vice-President (Research)	Designate of Vice-President (Research)	n/a	
Dora Tam	Academic Co-Chair, Professor, Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023	
Alberto de Salvatierra	Assistant Professor, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Sheri Madigan	Professor, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Piers Steel	Professor, Haskayne School of Business	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Shelly Russell- Mayhew Raafat El-Hacha	Professor, Werklund School of Education Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by Faculty Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024 July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Raylene Reimer DeBruyn	Professor, Faculty of Kinesiology	Appointed by Faculty	January 1, 2023 – June 30, 2025	
Rudiger Tscherning	Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Law	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Michael Hill	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2025	
Shane Sinclair	Professor, Faculty of Nursing	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
David Eaton	Professor, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Faculty	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023	
Faizal Abdul Careem	Faculty of Veterinary Medicine	Appointed by Faculty	Feb 9, 2023 – June 30, 2025	
Stephanie Bishop	Postdoctoral Associate, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Postdoctoral Association	Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2023	
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	SU rep	May 1, 2022 – Apr 30, 2023	
James Steele	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	GSA rep	May 1, 2022 – Apr 30, 2023	
Vacant		ADRC rep		
Ariel Ducey	Professor, Faculty of Arts and Member of Faculty of Graduate Studies Council	Appointed by the FGS Dean	Nov 2, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Mary-Jo Romaniuk	Vice-Provost (Libraries and Cultural Resources)	Ex officio	n/a	



Non-Voting							
Vacant	Associate Vice-President Research	Appointed by the VPR					
Lindsay Tedds	Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts	TUCFA rep	Sept. 15, 2022 – June 30, 2023				
Cristina Rai	Research Admin Specialist, Cumming School of Medicine	AUPE rep	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Thomas	Manager - Research Programs,	MaPS rep	Sept 15, 2020 –				
Oldenburg	Department of Geoscience		June 30, 2023				
Secretariat Staff							
Courtney McVie	University Secretary						
Elizabeth Sjogren	lizabeth Sjogren Scribe						
Guests							
Deborah Book	Legal Counsel – for Item 4						
Anne Wigham	Protected Disclosure and Research Integrity Advisor – for Item 4						
Hector MacIntyre	Manager - Postdoctoral Office & Internal Grants – for Item 5						
Steven Bryant	Canada Excellence Research Chair (CERC) and Chief Scientist, Creative Destruction Lab - Rockies – for Item 6						
Susan Skone	Associate Vice-President (Research) – for Item 7						
Abdel Yousif	Director, Research Computing Services – for Item 7						
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President Research (Indigenous Engagement) – for Item 8						
Chelsea	Manager, Indigenous Research Support						
Crowshoe							
Observers							
Sandra Amin	Incoming SU Vice-President (Academic)						
Kirsten Neprily	Incoming GSA Vice-President (Academic)						