

## General Faculties Council EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AGENDA

Wednesday, April 17, 2024, 2:00 p.m.

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/

Zoom: <a href="https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99728947018">https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99728947018</a> passcode: 334156

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Werthner	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Vice-Chair	Werthner	Verbal	
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the March 13, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Werthner Document		
4.	Recommendation of the Community Mental Health and Well-Being Strategy: Renewal of the Campus Mental Health Strategy	Szeto/Moon/Wiens/ Document + Thannhauser/Lavoie PowerPoint		2:10
5.	Recommendation of Revisions to the GFC Academic Staff Criteria and Processes Handbook	Yates/Wheeler	Document	2:30
6.	Appointment of One Academic Staff Member to the Academic Program Subcommittee	Werthner/McVie Document		2:50
7.	Appointment of One Academic Staff Member of GFC to the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee	Werthner/McVie Document		3:00
8.	Appointment of Two Academic Staff Members of GFC to the Academic Staff Criteria and Processes Handbook Working Group	Werthner/McVie	Document	3:10
	Discussion Items			
9.	Student Misconduct and Academic Appeals Policy Suite Revisions	Morrison/Speta	Document + PowerPoint	3:20
10.	Revisions to the GFC Executive Committee Terms of Reference and GFC Standing Committees General Terms of Reference	McVie	Document	3:45

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
11.	Review of the Draft May 9, 2024 GFC Agenda	Werthner/McVie	Document	3:55
10				
12.	Other Business			
13.	Adjournment	Werthner	Verbal	4:00
	Next meeting: May 15, 2024			

## **ATTENDANCE**

General Faculties Co	Quorum = 7				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes	
Voting					
Ed McCauley	Chair (President and Vice-Chancellor)	ex-officio	n/a	Regrets	
Penny Werthner	Vice-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice- President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a		
Jessica Ayala	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Social Work	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Joule Bergerson	Associate Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Olive Chapman	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Jacqueline Jenkins	Professor, Faculty of Arts	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Rachel Lauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Satish Raj	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Bill Rosehart	Dean, Schulich School of Engineering and Deputy Provost	Appointed by Deans' Council	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023		
Aoife Mac Namara	Dean, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	President, Students' Union (SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2024	Last meeting	
James Steele	President, Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2024	Last meeting	
Non-Voting					
Kent Donlevy	President of the University of Calgary Faculty Association	Appointed by the Faculty Association	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Secretariat Staff					
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe				
Guests					
Andrew Szeto	Director, Campus Mental Health Strateg				
Michele Moon	Team Lead, WellBeing and WorkLife – fo				
Kevin Wiens	Director, Student Wellness, Accessibility				
Jennifer Thannhauser	Counsellor, Student Wellness Services – for Item 4				
Sasha Lavoie	Senior Communications Specialist, Provost's Office – for Item 4				
Robin Yates	Administrative Co-Chair, Academic Staff Criteria and Processes Handbook Working Group – for Item 5				
Justine Wheeler	Academic Co-Chair, Academic Staff Criteria and Processes Handbook Working Group – for Item 5				
Melissa Morrison					
Michelle Speta					

Observers		
Ermia Rezaei-	Incoming Students' Union President	
Afsah		
Jessie Dinh	Incoming Students' Union Vice-President (Academic)	
Saaka Sulemana	Incoming Graduate Students' Association President	
Saaka		
Alexandria	Incoming Graduate Students' Association Vice-President (Academic)	
Poppendorf <mark>TBC</mark>		