

## General Faculties Council EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AGENDA

Wednesday, January 17, 2024, 2:00 p.m.

AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/

Zoom: https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99728947018 passcode: 334156

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Werthner	erthner Document	
2.	Remarks of the Vice-Chair	Werthner	Verbal	
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the November 22, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Werthner	Document	
4.	Recommendation of the Research and Innovation Plan	Ghali	Document	2:10
5.	Recommendation of the Academic Innovation Plan	Werthner	Werthner Document	
6.	Recommendation of the Establishment of the 2024- 2025 GFC Elected Membership Distribution	Werthner/McVie	Document	2:50
	Discussion Items			
7.	Review of the Draft February 8, 2024 GFC Agenda	Werthner/McVie	Document	3:00
8.	Other Business			3:05
9.	Adjournment Next meeting: February 14, 2024	Werthner	Verbal	

## ATTENDANCE

General Faculties Co	Quorum = 7				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes	
Voting					
Ed McCauley	Chair (President and Vice-Chancellor)	ex-officio	n/a		
Penny Werthner	Vice-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice- President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a		
Jessica Ayala	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Social Work	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Joule Bergerson	Associate Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Olive Chapman	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Jacqueline Jenkins	Professor, Faculty of Arts	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Rachel Lauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Satish Raj	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Bill Rosehart	Dean, Schulich School of Engineering and Deputy Provost	Appointed by Deans' Council	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023		
Aoife Mac Namara	Dean, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	President, Students' Union (SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2024		
James Steele	President, Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2024		
Non-Voting					
Kent Donlevy	President of the University of Calgary Faculty Association	Appointed by the Faculty Association	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Secretariat Staff					
Courtney McVie	University Secretary				
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe				
Guests	<u> </u>				
Bill Ghali	Vice-President (Research) – for Item 4				
Observers					
Lorna Very	Executive Director, Office of the Vice-President (Research) – for Item 4				