

General Faculties Council EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AGENDA

Wednesday, February 15, 2023, 2:00 p.m. Zoom link: https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/99728947018 passcode: 334156

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time	
1.	Approval of the Agenda	McCauley	Document	2:00	
2.	Remarks of the Chair and Vice-Chair	McCauley/Werthner	Verbal		
	Action Item				
3.	Approval of the January 25, 2023 Meeting Minutes	McCauley	Document		
	Discussion Item				
4.	Revisions to the Academic Staff Criteria and Processes Handbook	Smith/Davidson	Document	2:10	
	Action Items				
5.	Approval of Revisions to the Academic Staff Criteria and Processes Handbook Working Group Terms of Reference	Smith/Davidson Document		2:25	
6.	Recommendation of the Interdisciplinary and Transdisciplinary Graduate Program Governance	Yates	Document	2:35	
	Discussion Item				
7.	Review of the Draft March 9, 2023 GFC Agenda	McCauley/McVie	Document	2:55	
8.	Other Business				
9.	Adjournment Next meeting: March 15, 2023 (in person, A167)	McCauley	Verbal	3:00	

ATTENDANCE

General Faculties Co	Quorum = 7				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes	
Voting					
Ed McCauley	Chair (President and Vice-Chancellor)	ex-officio	n/a		
Penny Werthner	Vice-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice- President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a		
Jessica Ayala	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Social Work	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Joule Bergerson	Associate Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Olive Chapman	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Rachel Lauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Satish Raj	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Melanee Thomas	Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts	Elected by the GFC	October 7, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Bill Rosehart	Dean, Schulich School of Engineering and Deputy Provost	Appointed by Deans' Council	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023		
Aoife Mac Namara	Dean, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023		
James Steele	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023		
Non-Voting					
David Stewart	President of the University of Calgary Faculty Association	Appointed by the Faculty Association	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023		
Secretariat Staff					
Courtney McVie Elizabeth Sjogren					
Guests					
Francine Smith	Academic Co-Chair, Academic Staff Criter Group – for Items 4 and 5				
Sandra Davidson	Co-Chair, Academic Staff Criteria and Pro for Items 4 and 5				
Robin Yates	n Yates Dean and Vice-Provost (Graduate Studies) – for Item 6				
Observers					