

## General Faculties Council EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AGENDA

Wednesday, November 16, 2022, 2:00 p.m. Zoom: https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/96778787422 Passcode: 214837

ltem	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	McCauley Document		2:00
2.	Remarks of the Chair and Vice-Chair	McCauley/Werthner	Verbal	
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the October 19, 2022 and October 24, 2022 Meeting Minutes	McCauley Document		
4.	Appointment of One Academic Staff Member to the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee	McCauley/McVie	Document	2:10
	Discussion Items			
5.	Institutional Enterprise Risk Management Program – Student Risk Review	Stein/Alho Document		2:20
6.	Revisions to the GFC Bylaws	McVie Document		2:35
7.	Review of the Draft December 8, 2022 GFC Agenda	McCauley/McVie Document		2:55
8.	Other Business			
9.	Adjournment Next meeting: December 14, 2022 (in-person, in A167)	McCauley Verbal		3:00

## ATTENDANCE

General Faculties Co	Quorum = 7					
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes		
Voting						
Ed McCauley	Chair (President and Vice-Chancellor)	ex-officio	n/a			
Penny Werthner	Vice-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice- President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a			
Jessica Ayala	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Social Work	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024			
Joule Bergerson	Associate Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024			
Olive Chapman	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025			
Rachel Lauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024			
Satish Raj	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025			
Melanee Thomas	Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts	Elected by the GFC	October 7, 2022 – June 30, 2025			
Bill Rosehart	Dean, Schulich School of Engineering and Deputy Provost	Appointed by Deans' Council	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023			
Aoife Mac Namara	Dean, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025			
Shaziah Jinnah	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023			
James Steele	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023			
Non-Voting						
David Stewart	President of the University of Calgary Faculty Association	Appointed by the Faculty Association	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023			
Secretariat Staff						
Courtney McVie	University Secretary					
Elizabeth Sjogren	Scribe					
Guests						
John Alho	Associate Vice-President - Government R					
Janet Stein						
Observers						