

General Faculties Council EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AGENDA

Monday, October 24, 2022, 2:00 p.m. Zoom link: https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/92248463882 passcode: 497624 Dial-in numbers: 587-328-1099 (local), 647-374-4685 or 647-558-0588 (Ontario) Meeting ID: 922 4846 3882

| Item | Description | Presenter(s) | Materials | Estimated Time |
|------|---|--------------|-----------|-------------------|
| 1. | Approval of the Agenda | McCauley | Document | 2:00 |
| | Action Item | | | |
| 2. | Recommendation of Revisions to the Partisan Political Activities Policy | Alho/Book | Document | 2:02 |
| 3. | Adjournment Next meeting: November 16, 2022 (via Zoom) | McCauley | Verbal | 3:00 |

ATTENDANCE

| General Faculties Co | Quorum = 7 | | | |
|----------------------|--|--------------------------------------|------------------------------------|---------------------------------------|
| Name | Membership (position) | Appointment Type | Term(s) | Attendance/Notes |
| Voting | | | | |
| Ed McCauley | Chair (President and Vice-Chancellor) | ex-officio | n/a | Confirmed |
| Penny Werthner | Vice-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice- President Academic) | ex-officio | n/a | Regrets |
| Jessica Ayala | Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Social Work | Elected by the GFC | July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024 | Confirmed |
| Joule Bergerson | Associate Professor, Schulich School of Engineering | Elected by the GFC | July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024 | |
| Olive Chapman | Professor, Werklund School of Education | Elected by the GFC | July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025 | Confirmed |
| Rachel Lauer | Associate Professor, Faculty of Science | Elected by the GFC | July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024 | Confirmed |
| Satish Raj | Professor, Cumming School of Medicine | Elected by the GFC | July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025 | Confirmed (note: connecting by phone) |
| Melanee Thomas | Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts | Elected by the GFC | October 7, 2022 – June 30, 2025 | Confirmed |
| Bill Rosehart | Dean, Schulich School of Engineering and Deputy Provost | Appointed by Deans' Council | July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023 | Regrets |
| Aoife Mac Namara | Dean, Faculty of Arts | Appointed by Deans' Council | August 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025 | Confirmed |
| Shaziah Jinnah | Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU) | Appointed by the SU | May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023 | |
| James Steele | Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA) | Appointed by the GSA | May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023 | Regrets |
| Non-Voting | | | | |
| David Stewart | President of the University of Calgary Faculty Association | Appointed by the Faculty Association | July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023 | |
| Secretariat Staff | | | | |
| Courtney McVie | Confirmed | | | |
| Elizabeth Sjogren | Confirmed | | | |
| Guests | | | | |
| John Alho | Assoc. Vice President – Gov't Relations ar | Confirmed | | |
| Deborah Book | Confirmed | | | |
| Observers | | | | |
| | | | | |