

General Faculties Council EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AGENDA

Wednesday, September 21, 2022, 2:00 p.m.

AD 167

ltem	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	McCauley Document		2:00
2.	Remarks of the Chair and Vice-Chair	McCauley/Werthner	Verbal	
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the August 31, 2022 and September 14, 2022 Meeting Minutes	McCauley Document		
4.	Naming of the Teaching and Learning Committee Academic Co-Chair	McCauley/McVie	Document	2:10
5.	Nominations for the Election by GFC of Two Academic Staff Members to the Presidential Task Force on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Accessibility (EDIA)	McCauley/McVie	Document	2:15
6.	Nominations for the Election by GFC of Two Academic Staff Members to the Strategic Planning Steering Committee	McCauley/McVie	Document	2:25
	Discussion Items			
7.	Process for the Revision of the GFC Bylaws	McCauley/McVie	Verbal	2:35
8.	Review of the Draft October 6, 2022 GFC Agenda	McCauley/McVie	Document	2:50
9.	Other Business			
10.	Adjournment Next meeting: October 19, 2022 (via Zoom)	McCauley	Verbal	3:00

ATTENDANCE

General Faculties Co				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting				
Ed McCauley	Chair (President and Vice-Chancellor)	ex-officio	n/a	
Penny Werthner	Vice-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice- President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a	
Jessica Ayala	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Social Work	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Joule Bergerson	Associate Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Olive Chapman	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Rachel Lauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Satish Raj	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
vacant		Elected by the GFC	October 7, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Bill Rosehart	Dean, Schulich School of Engineering and Deputy Provost	Appointed by Deans' Council	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023	
Aoife Mac Namara	Dean, Faculty of Arts	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Shaziah Jinnah	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023	
James Steele	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023	
Non-Voting	Non-Voting			
David Stewart	President of the University of Calgary Faculty Association	Appointed by the Faculty Association	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023	
Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie				
Elizabeth Sjogren				
Guests				
Observers				
Observers				