

## General Faculties Council EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AGENDA

Wednesday, August 31, 2022, 2:00 p.m. Zoom link: <u>https://ucalgary.zoom.us/j/94631987051</u> Passcode: 143051

ltem	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	McCauley Document		2:00
2.	Remarks of the Chair and Vice-Chair	McCauley/Werthner Verbal		
3.	Committee Orientation	McCauley/McVie	PowerPoint	2:10
	Discussion Items			
4.	<ul> <li>Presidential Task Force on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Accessibility (EDIA)</li> <li>Co-Constituting an Inspiring, Strong, Evidence-Based EDIA Strategy</li> </ul>	McCauley/Smith	PowerPoint	2:20
	Action Items			
5.	Nominations for the Election by GFC of One Academic Staff Member of GFC to the GFC Executive Committee	McCauley/McVie	1cCauley/McVie Document	
6.	Reappointment of the Academic Co-Chair of the Academic Staff Criteria and Processes Handbook Working Group	McCauley/McVie Document		3:00
7.	Other Business			
8.	Adjournment Next meeting: September 21, 2022 (in-person)	McCauley	Verbal	3:10

## ATTENDANCE

General Faculties							
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes			
Voting							
Ed McCauley	Chair (President and Vice-Chancellor)	ex-officio	n/a				
Penny Werthner	Vice-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice- President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a				
Jessica Ayala	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Social Work	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Joule Bergerson	Associate Professor, Schulich School of Engineering	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Olive Chapman	Professor, Werklund School of Education	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025				
Rachel Lauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024				
Satish Raj	Professor, Cumming School of Medicine	Elected by the GFC	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025				
vacant		Elected by the GFC	October 7, 2022 – June 30, 2025				
Bill Rosehart	Dean, Schulich School of Engineering and Deputy Provost	Appointed by Deans' Council	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023				
vacant		Appointed by Deans' Council	Sept. X, 2022 – June 30, 2025				
Shaziah Jinnah	Vice-President (Academic), Students' Union (SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023				
James Steele	Vice-President (Academic), Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022 – April 30, 2023				
Non-Voting							
David Stewart	President of the University of Calgary Faculty Association	Appointed by the Faculty Association	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023				
Secretariat Staff							
Courtney McVie							
Elizabeth Sjogren	Sjogren Scribe						
Guests							
Malinda Smith	nith Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President Research (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)						
Observers							