

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PROGRAM SUBCOMMITTEE AGENDA

Location: A167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom Zoom Meeting ID: <u>942 6111 1274</u> Passcode: APS

May 6, 2024, 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Traditional Land Acknowledgment	Wu	Verbal 2:00	
	Approval of the Agenda	Benoit	Document	
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Benoit/Burns	Verbal	2:05
Actio	n Items			
3.	Approval of the April 8, 2024 Minutes	Benoit/Burns Document		2:15
4.	Recommendation of the Changes to the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) Program's Curricular Structure	Archer/ Remnant/Warren	Document	2:20
5.	Recommendation of the Creation of the Concentration in Aboriginal and Indigenous Law within the Juris Doctor (JD) Program, Faculty of Law	Wright/Showalter	Document	2:50
Discu	ssion Items			1
6.	Annual Committee Performance Review	McVie	Verbal	3:15
Inform	nation Items			1
7.	Approved Revisions to the 2024-2025 GFC and GFC Standing Committees Meeting Schedule and the 2025-2026 Meeting Schedule	In-Package Only	Document	-
8.	Program Approvals Status Report	In-Package Only	Document	-
9.	Other Business	Benoit/Burns	Verbal	3:30
10.	Adjournment	Burns	Verbal	4:00
	Have a great summer!			

ATTENDANCE

GFC ACADEMIC PROGRAM SUBCOMMITTEE						
Name	Membership (Position)	Appointment Type	Term	Attendance/ Notes		
Voting Members	1	Γ		1		
Wendy Benoit	Co-Chair (Interim Vice-Provost, Teaching & Learning)	Ex-officio	n/a			
Amy Burns	Academic Co-Chair (Werklund School of Education)	Named and appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2024			
Getachew Assefa	School of Architecture, Landscape and Planning	GFC Member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026			
Cari Gulbrandsen	Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026			
Samantha Thrift	Faculty of Arts	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026			
Leanne Wu	Faculty of Science	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026			
Amy Dambrowitz	Registrar	Ex-officio	n/a			
Qiao Sun	Academic Co-Chair of the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee	Ex-officio	n/a			
Jessie Dinh	Vice-President Academic, Students' Union	Appointed by the Students' Union	May 1, 2024 – April 30, 2025			
Non-Voting Membe	rs	·				
Christine Johns	Associate Deputy Provost	Ex-officio	n/a			
Dora Tam	TUCFA Representative	Appointed by TUCFA	Feb. 7, 2023 – June 30, 2024			
Secretariat Staff		•				
Courtney McVie University Secretary						
Michelle Speta Meeting Secretary						
Invited Guests						
Rebecca Archer	Co-Associate Dean, Curriculum (DVM), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine – attending for Item 4					
John Remnant	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine – attending for Item 4					
Amy Warren	Co-Associate Dean, DVM Curriculum, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine – attending for Item 4					
James Searcy	Faculty of Veterinary Medicine – attending for Item 4					
David Wright	Associate Professor, Faculty of Law – attending for Item 5					
Andrew Showalter	Coordinator, Indigenous Initiatives, Faculty of Law – attending for Item 5					
Resource Personnel						
Jaclyn Carter	Educational Development Consultant, Taylor Institute					
Jonathan Ezeumeh	Policy Analyst, University of Calgary Students' Union					
Kelly Hoglund	Senior Specialist, Academic Initiatives, Provost's Office - attending for Items 4 & 5					
Elizabeth Pando	Program Innovation Partner, Program Innovation Hub					
Jessica Revington	a Revington Program Innovation Assistant, Program Innovation Hub					
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning & Reviews, Provost	's Office				