

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PROGRAM SUBCOMMITTEE AGENDA

Location: AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

Zoom Meeting ID: 942 6111 1274
Passcode: APS

March 4, 2024, 2:30 - 4:00 p.m.

2:30 PM START

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time			
1.	Territorial Acknowledgment	Benoit	Verbal	2:30			
	Approval of the Agenda	Benoit	Document				
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Benoit/Burns	Verbal	2:35			
Action Items							
3.	Approval of the January 22, 2024 Minutes	Benoit/Burns	Document	2:45			
4.	Recommendation for the Revisions to the Science Internship Program, Faculty of Science	Chibry	Document	2:50			
5.	Recommendation for the Reactivation of the BSc in Statistics, BSc in Statistics (Honours) and for Suspension leading to Termination of the Concentration in Statistics within the BSc in Mathematics	Hamilton/ Chibry	Document	3:20			
Discussion Items							
6.	Revisions to the APS Terms of Reference	McVie	Document	3:30			
Inforr	Information Items						
7.	Program Approvals Status Report	In-Package Only	Document	-			
8.	Other Business	Benoit/Burns	-	-			
9.	Adjournment	Benoit/Burns	Verbal	4:00			
	Next Meeting: April 8, 2024						

ATTENDANCE

GFC ACADEMIC PROGRAM SUBCOMMITTEE							
Name	Membership (Position)	Appointment Type	Term	Attendance/ Notes			
Voting Members							
Wendy Benoit	Co-Chair (Interim Vice-Provost, Teaching & Learning)	Ex-officio	n/a				
Amy Burns	Academic Co-Chair (Werklund School of Education)	Named and appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025				
Getachew Assefa	School of Architecture, Landscape and Planning	GFC Member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026				
Cari Gulbrandsen	Faculty of Social Work	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026				
Samantha Thrift	Faculty of Arts	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026				
Leanne Wu	Faculty of Science	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026				
Amy Dambrowitz	Registrar	Ex-officio	n/a				
Qiao Sun	Academic Co-Chair of the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee	Ex-officio	n/a				
Sandra Amin	Vice-President Academic, Students' Union	Appointed by the Students' Union	May 1, 2023 – April 30, 2024				
Non-Voting Member	rs						
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Innovation and Planning	Ex-officio	n/a				
Dora Tam	TUCFA Representative	Appointed by TUCFA	Feb. 7, 2023 – June 30, 2024				
Secretariat Staff							
Courtney McVie	University Secretary						
Michelle Speta	Meeting Secretary						
Holly Lywin	Scribe						
Invited Guests							
Nancy Chibry	Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs, Faculty of Science – attending for Item 4 & 5						
Ryan Hamilton	Associate Professor (Teaching), Department of Mathematics & Statistics, Faculty of Science – attending for Item 5						
Joanne Fung							
Resource Personnel							
Jaclyn Carter	Educational Development Consultant, Taylor Institute						
Jonathan Ezeumeh	Policy Analyst, University of Calgary Students' Union						
Kelly Hoglund	Program Innovation Partner, Program Innovation Hub						
Elizabeth Pando	ndo Program Innovation Partner, Program Innovation Hub						
Jessica Revington							
Karen Quinn	Karen Quinn Analyst, Planning & Reviews, Provost Office						