

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

May 1, 2023, 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.

AD 167 Governors Boardroom

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Werthner	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co- Chair	Werthner/Beattie	Verbal	2:05
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the April 17, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Werthner	Document	2:10
4.	Approval of the Creation of the Towards Truth and Reconciliation Certificate (Non-Credit), Continuing Education	Reid/Leblanc/ Wasniewski/ Touchie/Cunningham	Document	2:15
5.	Approval of the Creation of the PhD in Transdisciplinary Research and the Master of Transdisciplinary Research (thesis-based) Degrees, Faculty of Graduate Studies	Yates/O'Brien	Document	2:45
	Information Items			
6.	Subcommittee Reports: GAPS March and April	In-Package Only	Document	-
7.	Status of Program Approvals Report	In-Package Only	Document	-
8.	Other Business	Werthner	Verbal	3:30
9.	Adjournment Next meeting: May 1, 2023 (In-person)	Werthner	Verbal	

ATTENDANCE

Academic Planning and				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/No tes
Voting – Quorum 7				
Penny Werthner	Co-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice-President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a	
Tara Beattie	Academic Co-Chair (Associate Dean. Graduate Science Education, Cumming School of Medicine)	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022- June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Barbara Brown	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	ex-officio, Academic Co- Chair, Teaching and Learning Committee	Feb 23, 2022 – June 30, 2023	
Marjan Eggermont	Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	ex-officio	n/a	
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	Students' Union (SU) Representative (SU President)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2023– April 30, 2024	First Meeting
Dawn Johnston	Faculty of Arts	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Kirsten Neprily	Graduate Students' Association (GSA) Representative (Vice- President Academic, GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2023– April 30, 2024	First Meeting
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dora Tam	Professor, Social Work	ex-officio, Academic Co- Chair, Research and Scholarship Committee	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2023	
Non-Voting				
Hannah Ashton	Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) Representative	Appointed by MaPS	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	

David Stewart	President of the University of	Appointed by the	July 1, 2020 –			
	Calgary Faculty Association	Faculty Association	June 30, 2023			
Melanie Zimmer	Alberta Union of Provincial	Appointed by AUPE	July 1, 2021 –			
	Employees (AUPE)		June 30, 2024			
	Representative					
Secretariat Staff						
Courtney McVie	University Secretary					
Cherie Tutt	Scribe					
Resource Personnel						
Kelly Hoglund	Partner, Program Innovation					
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Inno					
Elizabeth Pando	Partner, Program Innovation	Partner, Program Innovation				
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning and Reviews					
Jessica Revington	Program Proposal Assistant, Pr	rogram Innovation				
Invited Guests						
Shawna Cunningham	nningham Director Indigenous Strategy, Office of Indigenous Engagement			For Item 4		
Sheila LeBlanc	eila LeBlanc Associate Vice President, Continuing Education, Continuing Education		ng Education	For Item 4		
Leslie Reid	Vice-Provost Teaching and Learning, and Co-Chair of the Decision Support			For Item 4		
	Team					
Asya Touchie	Program Specialist, Indigenous, Continuing Education			For Item 4		
Ewa Wasniewski	Director, Domestic Programs, Continuing Education			For Item 4		
Mary O'Brien Senior Associate Dean (Policy and Program Development), Facult			opment), Faculty of	For Item 5		
Graduate Studies						
Robin Yates	Vice-Provost and Dean (Graduate Studies) and Co-Chair of the Graduate		For Item 5			
	Academic Program Subcommittee					
Observers						