

## General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

April 17, 2023, 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.

Zoom

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Werthner	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co- Chair	Werthner/Beattie	Verbal	2:05
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the March 27, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Werthner	Document	2:10
4.	Graduate Academic Regulation Changes to Sections D.1: Registration and D.3 Student Status related to Term-based Registration	O'Brien/Yates	Document	2:15
5.	Recommendation of the Name Change for the Department of Geoscience to the Department of Earth, Energy, and Environment	Hubbard/Pidlisecky	Document	2:30
	Discussion Items			
6.	Quality Assurance Unit Review for The School of Public Policy	Werthner/Sieppert	Document	2:50
7.	Space Program for Veterinary Medicine Program Expansion	Dragicevic	Document	3:05
	Information Items			
8.	Other Business	Werthner	Verbal	3:20
9.	Adjournment Next meeting: May 1, 2023 (In-person)	Werthner	Verbal	

## ATTENDANCE

Academic Planning and				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/No tes
Voting – Quorum 7				
Penny Werthner	Co-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice-President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a	
Tara Beattie	Academic Co-Chair (Associate Dean. Graduate Science Education, Cumming School of Medicine)	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022- June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Barbara Brown	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	ex-officio, Academic Co- Chair, Teaching and Learning Committee	Feb 23, 2022 – June 30, 2023	
Marjan Eggermont	Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dawn Johnston	Faculty of Arts	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Saaka Sulemana Saaka	Graduate Students' Association (GSA) Representative (President of the GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022– April 30, 2023	
Nicole Schmidt	Students' Union (SU) Representative (President of the SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2021 – April 30, 2023	
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dora Tam	Professor, Social Work	ex-officio, Academic Co- Chair, Research and Scholarship Committee	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2023	
Non-Voting				
Hannah Ashton	Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) Representative	Appointed by MaPS	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	

	Calgary Faculty Association Alberta Union of Provincial	Faculty Association	June 30, 2023			
Melanie Zimmer	Alberta Union of Provincial		June 30, 2023			
		Appointed by AUPE	July 1, 2021 –			
	Employees (AUPE)		June 30, 2024			
	Representative					
Secretariat Staff						
Courtney McVie	University Secretary					
Cherie Tutt	Scribe					
Resource Personnel						
Kelly Hoglund	Partner, Program Innovation					
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Innov					
Elizabeth Pando	Partner, Program Innovation					
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning and Reviews					
Jessica Revington	Iessica Revington Program Proposal Assistant, Program Innovation					
Invited Guests	Invited Guests					
Boris Dragicevic	s Dragicevic Associate Vice-President (Facilities Development)			For Item 7		
Stephen Hubbard	bbard Vice-Dean, Faculty of Science			For Item 5		
Mary O'Brien						
	Graduate Studies					
Adam Pidlisecky	Interim Department Head, Geoscience, Faculty of Science			For Item 5		
Jackie Sieppert	Interim Director, The School of Public Policy			For Item 6		
Robin Yates	bin Yates Vice-Provost and Dean (Graduate Studies) and Co-Chair of the Graduate			For Item 4		
Observers						