

## **General Faculties Council**

## ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

March 27, 2023, 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.

AD 167 Governors Boardroom

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Werthner	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co-Chair	Werthner/Beattie	Verbal	2:05
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the March 13, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Werthner	Document	2:10
4.	Approval of the Suspension and Termination of the Second Languages Teachable Subject Area, Bachelor of Education (BEd)/BEd Honours (4-year On-Campus Pathway)	Burns/Baron/Reid	Document	2:15
5.	Creation of a New Specialization in Rural and Remote Nursing within the Graduate Certificates in Advanced Nursing Practice I and II	King-Shier/Yates	Document	2:30
6.	Approval of Revisions to Graduate Admissions Sections: A.2 Application for Admission and A.1 Qualifications and A.3 Admissions Categories	Yates	Document	2:50
	Discussion Items			
7.	APPC Mid-Year Survey Results	Beattie/Werthner	Document	3:05
	Information Items			
8.	GFC and GFC Standing Committees Meeting Schedules for 2023-2024 (Revised) and 2024-2025	In-Package Only	Document	-

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
9.	Status of Program Approvals Report	In-Package Only	Document	-
10.	Other Business	Werthner	Verbal	3:20
11.	Adjournment Next meeting: April 17, 2023 (Zoom)	Werthner	Verbal	

## **ATTENDANCE**

Academic Planning and Priorities Committee				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/No tes
Voting – Quorum 7				
Penny Werthner	Co-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice-President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a	
Tara Beattie	Academic Co-Chair (Associate Dean. Graduate Science Education, Cumming School of Medicine)	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022- June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Barbara Brown	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	ex-officio, Academic Co- Chair, Teaching and Learning Committee	Feb 23, 2022 – June 30, 2023	
Marjan Eggermont	Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dawn Johnston	Faculty of Arts	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Saaka Sulemana Saaka	Graduate Students' Association (GSA) Representative (President of the GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022– April 30, 2023	
Nicole Schmidt	Students' Union (SU) Representative (President of	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2021 – April 30, 2023	

	the SU)			
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dora Tam	Professor, Social Work	ex-officio, Academic Co- Chair, Research and Scholarship Committee	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2023	
Non-Voting				
Hannah Ashton	Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) Representative	Appointed by MaPS	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
David Stewart	President of the University of Calgary Faculty Association	Appointed by the Faculty Association	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023	
Melanie Zimmer	Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE) Representative	Appointed by AUPE	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie	University Secretary	University Secretary		
Cherie Tutt	Scribe	Scribe		
Resource Personnel				
Kelly Hoglund	Partner, Program Innovation	Partner, Program Innovation		
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Innov	Senior Director, Program Innovation & Planning		
Elizabeth Pando	Partner, Program Innovation	Partner, Program Innovation		
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning and Reviews			
Jessica Revington	Program Proposal Assistant, Pr	rogram Innovation		
Invited Guests				
Violet Baron	Director Strategic Education Init	tiatives, Werklund School of	Education	For Item 4
Amy Burns	Associate Dean, Undergraduat Education	Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs in Education, Werklund School of		
Leslie Reid	Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning) and Co-Chair of the Academic Program Subcommittee			For Item 4
Kathryn King-Shier	Associate Dean – Graduate Education (Faculty of Nursing)			For Item 5
Robin Yates	Vice-Provost and Dean (Graduate Studies) and Co-Chair of the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee			For Items 5 & 6
Observers	-			