

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

March 13, 2023, 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.

Zoom

ltem	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Werthner	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co- Chair	Werthner/Beattie	Verbal	2:05
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the February 6, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Werthner	Document	2:10
4.	Approval of the Program Redesign for the Bachelor of Social Work (BSW)	Perrault/Gulbrandsen/ Zuk/Reid	Document	2:15
5.	Approval of the Creation of a Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Nursing	Clancy/Estefan/ Davidson/Reid	Document	2:30
6.	Approval of a Change to Course Requirements for the Master of Strategic Studies	Hiebert/Van Brunschot/Yates	Document	2:55
7.	Approval of a Redesign of the Military, Security and Strategic Studies PhD program	Hiebert/Van Brunschot/Yates	Document	3:10
8.	Approval of Revisions to Graduate Admissions and Academic Regulations Sections: A.5 - Offer of Admission, A.6 – Advanced Credit and Course Exemption, R – Vacation (Time Off from Studies)	O'Brien/Yates	Document	3:30

	Discussion Items			
9.	APPC Mid-Year Survey Results	Beattie/Werthner	Document	3:45
	Information Items			
10.	Subcommittee Reports: Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee for the February 15, 2023 Meeting Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee for the February 16, 2023 Meeting	In-Package Only	Document	-
11.	Status of Program Approvals Report	In-Package Only	Document	-
12.	Other Business	Werthner	Verbal	4:00
13.	Adjournment Next meeting: March 27, 2023 (In-Person)	Werthner	Verbal	

ATTENDANCE

Academic Planning and Priorities Committee				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting – Quorum 7				
Penny Werthner	Co-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice-President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a	
Tara Beattie	Academic Co-Chair (Associate Dean. Graduate Science Education, Cumming School of Medicine)	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022- June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Barbara Brown	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	ex-officio, Academic Co-Chair, Teaching and Learning Committee	Feb 23, 2022 – Sept 30, 2022	
Marjan Eggermont	Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dawn Johnston	Faculty of Arts	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Saaka Sulemana Saaka	Graduate Students' Association (GSA) Representative (President of the GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2022– April 30, 2023	
Nicole Schmidt	Students' Union (SU) Representative (President of the SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2021 – April 30, 2023	
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dora Tam	Professor, Social Work	ex-officio, Academic Co-Chair, Research and Scholarship Committee	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	

Non-Voting				
		T	T	
Hannah Ashton	Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) Representative	Appointed by MaPS	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
David Stewart	President of the University of	Appointed by the	July 1, 2020 –	
	Calgary Faculty Association	Faculty Association	June 30, 2023	
Melanie Zimmer	Alberta Union of Provincial	Appointed by AUPE	July 1, 2021 –	
	Employees (AUPE)		June 30, 2024	
	Representative			
Resource Person (s)			-	
Christine Johns	Senior Director (Program Innovation and Planning)	ex-officio	n/a	
Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie	University Secretary			
Cherie Tutt				
Presenters				
Leslie Reid	Vice-Provost (Teaching and Learning) and Co-Chair of the Academic Program Subcommittee			Items 4 & 5
Cari Gulbrandsen	Undergraduate Program Director	Undergraduate Program Director – Faculty of Social Work		
Ellen Perrault	Dean – Faculty of Social Work			
Gail Zuk	Associate Dean (Undergraduate)	Associate Dean (Undergraduate) – Faculty of Social Work		
Tracey Clancy	Interim Associate Dean (Curriculum & Evaluation) – Faculty of Nursing			Item 5
Sandra Davidson	Dean – Faculty of Nursing			ltem 5
Andrew Estefan	Associate Dean (Curriculum & Evaluation) – Faculty of Nursing			ltem 5
Catherine Laing	Associate Dean (Undergraduate Programs) - Faculty of Nursing			Item 5
Robin Yates	Vice-Provost and Dean (Graduate Studies) and Co-Chair of the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee			Items 6-8
Maureen Hiebert	Director, Centre for Military, Security and Strategic Studies			Items 6 & 7
Erin Gibbs Van	Vice-Dean, Faculty of Arts			Items 6 & 7
Brunschot				
Mary O'Brien	Senior Associate Dean (Policy and Program Development), Faculty of Graduate Studies			Item 8
James Steele	Graduate Students' Association Vice-President (Academic)			Item 8
Resource Persons				
Kelly Hoglund	Partner, Program Innovation			
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Innovation & Planning			
Elizabeth Pando	Partner, Program Innovation			
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning and Reviews			
Jessica Revington Proposal Assistant, Program Innovation				