

## General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

Location: AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

**Zoom Meeting ID:** 918 2064 2316

Passcode: APPC

October 30, 2023, 2:00 - 3:00 pm

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Territorial Acknowledgment	Yates/Johnston	Verbal	2,00 nm
	Approval of the Agenda	Yates/Johnston Docume		2:00 pm
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Yates/Johnston	Verbal	2:05 pm
Action	Items			
3.	Approval of the September 25, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Yates/Johnston	Document	2:10 pm
4.	Approval of an Admission Requirement for the Undergraduate Medical Education (UME) Program – Indigenous Education Requirement	Jalil/Roach/ Cayer/Panaccione	Document	2:15 pm
Inform	nation Items			
5.	Status of Program Approvals Report	McVie/Speta	Presentation & Document	2:35 pm
6.	Subcommittee Report:	In-Package Only	Document	-
	Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee (Sept. 21, 2023)			
7.	Other Business	Yates/Johnston	Verbal	2:45 pm
8.	Adjournment Next Meeting: November 20, 2023	Yates/Johnston	Verbal	2:50 pm

## **ATTENDANCE**

GFC ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE					
Name	Membership (Position)	Appointment Type	Term	Attendance/ Notes	
Voting Members					
Robin Yates	Co-Chair (Deputy Provost)	Ex-officio, designate of the Provost	n/a		
Dawn Johnston	Academic Co-Chair (Associate Dean, Teaching, Learning and Student Engagement, Faculty of Arts)	Named and appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	GFC Member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Cydnee Seneviratne	Associate Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	GFC Member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Marjan Eggermont	Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee	Ex-officio	n/a		
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair of the Research and Scholarship Committee	Ex-officio	n/a		
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Deans' Council	Aug. 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	President, Students' Union	Appointed by the Students' Union	May 1, 2023 – April 30, 2024		
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President External, Graduate Students' Association	Appointed by the Graduate Students' Association	May 1, 2023 – April 30, 2024		
Shawna Cunningham	Acting Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement	Ex-officio	n/a		
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion	Ex-officio	n/a		
Non-Voting Memb	ers				
Vacant	Vacant	Designate of the Deputy Provost	_	-	
Leighton Wilks	The Faculty Association of the University of Calgary (TUCFA) Representative	Appointed by TUCFA	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024		
Melanie Zimmer	Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE) Representative	Appointed by AUPE	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Stefanie Hassel	Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) Representative	Appointed by MaPS	Sept. 20, 2024 – TBD		

Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie	University Secretary			
Michelle Speta	Scribe			
Resource Personne	el			
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Innovation and Planning			
Observers				
Kelly Hoglund	Partner, Program Innovation Hub			
Elizabeth Pando	Partner, Program Innovation Hub			
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning and Reviews, Provost's Office			
Guests				
Rabiya Jalil	Associate Dean, People, Culture, and Health Promotion, Cumming School of Medicine			
Pamela Roach	Director, Indigenous Health Education, Cumming School of Medicine			
Shannon Cayer	Manager, MD Admissions, Cumming School of Medicine			
Remo Panaccione	Assistant Dean, MD Admissions, Cumming School of Medicine			
Amy Dambrowitz	Co-Chair of Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee (CCS)			