

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

Location: A167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom Zoom Meeting ID: <u>918 2064 2316</u> Passcode: APPC

May 27, 2024, 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Traditional Land Acknowledgment	Yates/	Verbal	
		Johnston	Description	2:00 pm
	Approval of the Agenda	Yates/ Johnston	Document	
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Yates/	Verbal	2:05 pm
Ζ.		Johnston	VELDAI	2.05 pm
Action	n Items			
3.	Approval of the May 13, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Yates/	Document	2:10 pm
		Johnston		
4.	Approval of the Creation of the Specialization in Water Resilience	Eggermont/	Document	2:15 pm
	within the PhD and Master's in Transdisciplinary Research	Clark/		
		Anderson		
5.	Approval of the Creation of the Concentration in Aboriginal and	Wright/	Document	2:40 pm
	Indigenous Law within the Juris Doctor (JD) Program, Faculty of	Calliou/		
	Law	Showalter		
6.	Approval of the Changes to the Academic Regulations: Section E.	Wood/Benoit/	Document	3:00 pm
	<i>Course Information</i> and Section G. <i>Academic Assessments and Examinations</i>	Dambrowitz		
7.	Approval of the Changes to Academic Regulation Section M.1	Turpin	Document	3:05 pm
	Supporting Documentation			
Discus	ssion Items			
8.	Faculty of Social Work Midterm Unit Review Report	Perrault	Document	3:25 pm
Inform	nation Items			
9.	Program Approvals Status Report	In-Package	Document	-
10		Only		
10.	Subcommittee Reports	In-Package	Document	-
	a. Academic Program Subcommittee (May 6, 2024)	Only		

11.	Other Business	Yates/	Verbal	3:55 pm
		Johnston		
12.	Adjournment	Yates/	Verbal	4:00 pm
	Next Meeting: June 17, 2024	Johnston		

MEMBERSHIP & ATTENDANCE

GFC ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE				
Name	Appointment Type	Position/Membership	Term	Attendance (*virtual)
Voting Members				
Robin Yates	Co-Chair	Deputy Provost	ex-officio	
Dawn Johnston	Academic Co-Chair	Faculty of Arts	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	GFC Member appointed by GFC	Faculty of Science	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Cydnee Seneviratne	Executive Committee	Faculty of Nursing	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Marjan	Academic staff member appointed	Schulich School of	July 1, 2022 –	
Eggermont	by GFC Executive Committee	Engineering	June 30, 2025	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC)		ex-officio	
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair of the Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC)		ex-officio	
Shawna Cunningham	Acting Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement		ex-officio	
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion		ex-officio	
Kristin Baetz	Appointed by Deans' Council	Faculty of Science	Aug. 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Ermia Rezaei- Afsah	Appointed by the Students' Union (SU)	President, SU	May 1, 2024 – April 30, 2025	
Alexandria	Appointed by the Graduate	Vice-President Academic,	May 1, 2024 –	
Poppendorf	Students' Association (GSA)	GSA	April 30, 2025	
Non-Voting Memb				
Vacant	Delegate of the Deputy Provost		_	_
Justine Wheeler	Representative of The Faculty Assoc Calgary (TUCFA)	iation of the University of	March 1, 2024 – June 30, 2024	
Melanie Zimmer	Representative of the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE)		July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Hannah Ashton	Representative of the Management and Professional Staff (MaPS)		July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie	University Secretary			
Michelle Speta				
Resource Personne	21			
Christine Johns	Associate Deputy Provost			

Observers		
Elizabeth Pando	Program Innovation Partner, Provost's Office	
Kelly Hoglund	Senior Specialist, Academic Initiatives, Provost's Office	
Karen Quinn	Program Innovation Partner, Provost's Office	
Kelly Kay Spurlock	Analyst, Planning and Reviews, Provost's Office	
Jessica Revington	Program Proposal Assistant, Provost's Office	
Jaclyn Carter	Educational Development Consultant, Taylor Institute	
Guests		
Tara Beattie	Co-Chair, Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee – attending for Item 4	
Martyn Clark	Executive Co-Director, UNU Hub – attending for Item 4	
David Anderson	Associate Dean, Transdisciplinary Scholarship, Faculty of Graduate Studies – attending for Item 4	
Oleksiy	Associate Dean, Policy and Program Development, Faculty of Graduate Studies –	
Osiyevskyy	attending for Item 4	
Kenna Kelly-	Senior Program Development Specialist, Faculty of Graduate Studies –	
Turner	attending for Item 4	
Wendy Benoit	Co-Chair, Academic Program Subcommittee – attending for Items 5 and 6	
Brian Calliou	Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law – attending for Item 5	
David Wright	Associate Professor, Faculty of Law – attending for Item 5	
Andrew Showalter	Coordinator, Indigenous Initiatives, Faculty of Law – attending for Item 5	
Amy Dambrowitz	Registrar – attending for Item 6	
Vanessa Wood	Deputy Registrar – attending for Item 6	
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost, Student Experience – attending for Item 7	
Caroline O'Shea	Project Associate, Student and Enrolment Services – attending for Item 7	
Ellen Perrault	Dean, Faculty of Social Work – attending for Item 8	