

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

Location: A167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

Zoom Meeting ID: 918 2064 2316

Passcode: APPC

June 17, 2024, 1:30-4:00 p.m.

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time	
1.	Traditional Land Acknowledgment	Yates/	Verbal		
		Johnston		1:30 pm	
	Approval of the Agenda	Yates/	Document		
		Johnston			
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Yates/	Verbal	1:35 pm	
		Johnston			
Action	ı Items				
3.	Approval of the May 27, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Yates/	Document	1:45 pm	
		Johnston		·	
4.	Approval of the Changes to the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine	Remnant/	Document	1:50 pm	
	(DVM) Program's Curricular Structure	Archer			
5.	Approval of the Revisions to the Undergraduate Admission	de Roaldes	Document	2:15 pm	
	Regulations				
6.	Approval of the Revisions to the Graduate Admission Regulations	Osiyevskyy/	Document	2:25 pm	
		Beattie		·	
7.	Approval of the Removal of the 'Graduation with Distinction'	Zuk	Document	2:35 pm	
	Designation from the Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) Degree				
8.	Approval of the Revisions to Calendar Regulations for Student	Speta/	Document	2:55 pm	
	Appeals	Morrison			
Discus	ssion Items	1	1		
9.	General Space Program for the Multidisciplinary Science Hub	Van Hee/	Document	3:15 pm	
	(MDSH) Building	Baetz/Bos			
10.	Annual Committee Performance Review	McVie	Verbal	3:40 pm	
Inforn	nation Items	1	,		
11.	Program Approvals Status Report	In-Package	Document	-	
		Only			

12.	Subcommittee Reports	In-Package	Document	-
	a. Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee (May 15, 2024)b. Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee (May 16, 2024)	Only		
13.	Other Business	Yates/	Verbal	-
		Johnston		
14.	Adjournment	Yates/	Verbal	4:00 pm
		Johnston		

MEMBERSHIP & ATTENDANCE

GFC ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE				
Name	Appointment Type	Position/Membership	Term	Attendance (*virtual)
Voting Members				
Robin Yates	Co-Chair	Deputy Provost	ex-officio	
Dawn Johnston	Academic Co-Chair	Faculty of Arts	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	GFC Member appointed by GFC	Faculty of Science	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Cydnee Seneviratne	Executive Committee	Faculty of Nursing	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	
Marjan Eggermont	Academic staff member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	Schulich School of Engineering	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC)		ex-officio	
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair of the Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC)		ex-officio	
Shawna Cunningham	Acting Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement		ex-officio	
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion		ex-officio	
Kristin Baetz	Appointed by Deans' Council	Faculty of Science	Aug. 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Ermia Rezaei- Afsah	Appointed by the Students' Union (SU)	President, SU	May 1, 2024 – April 30, 2025	
Saaka Sulemana Saaka	Appointed by the Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	President, GSA	May 27, 2024 – April 30, 2025	
Non-Voting Member	ers			
Vacant	Delegate of the Deputy Provost		_	_
Justine Wheeler	Representative of The Faculty Assoc Calgary (TUCFA)	Representative of The Faculty Association of the University of		
Melanie Zimmer	Representative of the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE)		July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Hannah Ashton	Representative of the Management and Professional Staff (MaPS)		July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie	1cVie University Secretary			
Michelle Speta				
Vanessa Kozielec	Meeting Support			

Resource Personnel				
Christine Johns	Associate Deputy Provost			
Observers				
Kelly Hoglund	Senior Specialist, Academic Initiatives, Provost's Office			
Elizabeth Pando	Program Innovation Partner, Provost's Office			
Karen Quinn	Program Innovation Partner, Provost's Office			
Kelly Kay Spurlock	Analyst, Planning and Reviews, Provost's Office			
Jessica Revington	Program Proposal Assistant, Provost's Office			
Jaclyn Carter	Educational Development Consultant, Taylor Institute			
Guests				
Rebecca Archer	Co-Associate Dean, Curriculum, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine — attending for Item 4			
John Remnant	Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine – attending for Item 4			
Wendy Benoit	Co-Chair, Academic Program Subcommittee – attending for Item 4			
Jennifer de	Associate Registrar, Information, Admissions, and Recruitment			
Roaldes	– attending for Item 5			
Amy Dambrowitz	Co-Chair, Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee – attending for Items 5, 7, 8			
Oleksiy	Associate Dean, Policy & Program Development, Faculty of Graduate Studies			
Osiyevskyy	– attending for Item 6			
Tara Beattie	Co-Chair, Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee – attending for Items 6 and 8			
Gail Zuk	Associate Dean (Undergraduate), Faculty of Social Work – attending for Item 7			
Melissa Morrison	Associate General Counsel, Litigation, Student Appeals, and Policy			
	– attending for Item 8			
Megan Bos	Interim Director, Campus Planning – attending for Item 9			
Mike Van Hee	Vice-President (Services) – attending for Item 9			