

General Faculties Council

ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

September 19, 2022, 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.

Governors Boardroom AD167

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Werthner	Document	2:00
2.	Committee Orientation	Werthner/Beattie Yates/King-Shier Reid/Hayley Turpin/Weaver Johns	PowerPoint	2:05
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the Creation of an Interdisciplinary Specialization in Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine within the MSc and PhD programs in Veterinary Medical Sciences and Biomedical Engineering	Thundathil/Krawetz/Yates	Document	2:50
	Discussion Items			
4.	Proposed Revisions to the University's Sexual and Gender-Based Violence Policy	Turpin/Book	Document	3:10
5.	Quality Assurance Unit Review Report Schulich School of Engineering	Werthner/Rosehart	Document	3:25
	Information Items			
6.	Annual Programming Report for Professional and Continuing Education	In-Package Only	Document	-
7.	Status of Program Approvals Report	In-Package Only	Document	-
8.	Other Business	Werthner	Verbal	3:40
9.	Adjournment Next meeting: October 17, 2022 (Zoom)	Werthner	Verbal	

ATTENDANCE

Academic Planning and				
Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/Notes
Voting – Quorum 7				
Penny Werthner	Co-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice-President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a	
Tara Beattie	Academic Co-Chair (Associate Dean. Graduate Science Education, Cumming School of Medicine)	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	
Kirstin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022- June 30, 2025	First meeting
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	First meeting
Barbara Brown	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	ex-officio, Academic Co-Chair, Teaching and Learning Committee	Feb 23, 2022 – Sept 30, 2022	
Marjan Eggermont	Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	First meeting
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dawn Johnston	Faculty of Arts	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	First meeting
Saaka Sulemana Saaka	Graduate Students' Association (GSA) Representative (President of the GSA)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2022– April 30, 2023	
Nicole Schmidt	Students' Union (SU) Representative (President of the SU)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2021 – April 30, 2023	
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)	ex-officio	n/a	
Dora Tam	Professor, Social Work	ex-officio, Academic Co-Chair, Research and Scholarship Committee	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	

Non-Voting				
Hannah Ashton	Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) Representative	Appointed by MaPS	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	First meeting
David Stewart	President of the University of	Appointed by the	July 1, 2020 –	
	Calgary Faculty Association	Faculty Association	June 30, 2023	
Melanie Zimmer	Alberta Union of Provincial	Appointed by AUPE	July 1, 2021 –	
	Employees (AUPE)		June 30, 2024	
	Representative			
Resource Person (s)				
Christine Johns	Senior Director (Program	ex-officio	n/a	
	Innovation and Planning)			
Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie	University Secretary			
Cherie Tutt	Scribe			
Guests				
Deborah Book	Legal Counsel			Item 4
Jenny Cruikshank	Director, Business Operations, Schulich School of Engineering			Item 5
Jocelyn Hayley	Academic Co-Chair of the Acade Head, Schulich School of Engine	Item 2		
Kathryn King-Shier	Academic Co-Chair of the Gradu (Associate Dean, Graduate Prog	Item 2		
Roman Krawetz	Associate Professor, Cumming S	Item 3		
Anders Nygren				Item 5
Leslie Reid				
Derek Rancourt	k Rancourt Professor, Cumming School of Medicine			Item 3
Bill Rosehart	Dean, Schulich School of Engineering			Item 5
Jacob Thundathil	Professor and Associate Dean (Graduate Education and Internationalization), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine			Item 3
Verity Turpin	Co-Chair of the Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee (Vice-Provost Student Experience)			Items 2 & 4
Sherry Weaver	Academic Co-Chair of the Co (Associate Dean Undergraduate	Item 2		
Robin Yates	Co-Chair of the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee (Dean and Vice-Provost Graduate Studies)			
Observers		·		
Kelly Hoglund	Partner, Program Innovation			
Elizabeth Pando	Partner, Program Innovation			
Kelly Kay Spurlock	Analyst, Planning and Reviews			