

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

Meeting 145, February 14, 2022, 2:00-4:00 p.m.

By Zoom platform

Item	Description	Presenter	Materials	Estimated Time
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co- Chair	Balser/Beattie	Verbal	-
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the January 31, 2022 Meeting Minutes	Balser	Document	2:10
4.	Approval of the:	Reid/Boyce/Cai	Document	2:15
	a. Creation of a Certificate in Teaching Chinese as a Second Language			
	 b. Creation of an Embedded Certificate in Teaching Chinese as a Second Language 			
5.	Approval of the Suspension and Termination of the Ecology Major within the BSc program in Biological Sciences	Reid/Gieg/Rogers/Hansen	Document	2:40
6.	Approval of the Creation of a Non-Credit Lean Six Sigma Fundamentals Certificate	LeBlanc/Oguike/Cruz-Milette	Document	2:50
7.	Approval of Changes to the Undergraduate Admissions Requirements Section A.5.3.1 Transfer Admission Requirements (Faculty of Nursing)	Barker/Laing/MacKay	Document	3:05
8.	Approval of Changes to the Admissions Processes and Requirements for the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine	Barker/McCorkell	Document	3:15
	Discussion Items			
9.	Quality Assurance Unit Review: Campus Mental Health Strategy	Balser/Szeto/Bruckner/Moon	Document	3:30

Item	Description	Presenter	Materials	Estimated Time
	Information Items			
10.	 Subcommittee Reports: Academic Program Subcommittee January 17, 2022 Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee January 20, 2022 	In-Package Only	Document	
11.	Status of Program Approvals Report	In-Package Only	Document	
12.	Other Business	Balser	Verbal	3:45
13.	Motion to Adjourn Next meeting: March 14, 2022	Balser	Verbal	

Regrets and Questions:

Cherie Tutt, Director, University Secretariat Telephone: 220-7799 or email: ctutt@ucalgary.ca

Voting Members

Teri Balser, Co-Chair Tara Beattie, Academic Co-Chair Elena Braverman Nicole Culos-Reed Michael Hart Nicole Schmidt Tanille Shandro Malinda Smith Dora Tam Amy Warren Penny Werthner Barry Wylant

Non-Voting Members

Violet Baron David Stewart Melanie Zimmer

Meeting Secretary Cherie Tutt

Scribe Tasha Hodzic

Guests

Melissa Boyce, Associate Dean, Faculty of Arts Debbie Bruckner, Senior Director - Student Wellness - Access and Support Wei Cai, Associate Professor; School of Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures, Faculty of Arts Luisa Cruz-Milette, Program Manager, Seminars Designations & Corporate Training, Continuing Education Lisa Gieg, Associate Head (Undergraduate), Department of Biological Sciences David Hansen, Department Head, Department of Biological Sciences Catherine Laing, Associate Dean (Undergraduate Programs), Faculty of Nursing Sheila LeBlanc, DBA, Director, Continuing Education (CE) Carrie MacKay, Manager, Undergraduate and Graduate Programs, Faculty of Nursing Robert McCorkell, Associate Dean (Academic), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine Michele Moon, Team Lead, Wellbeing and Worklife MacDonald Oguike, Associate Director, Corporate Training & Workforce Development Programs, CE Leslie Reid, Co-Chair of the Academic Program Subcommittee Sean Rogers, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences Andrew Szeto, Director - Mental Health Strategy

Observers

Kelly Hoglund, Program Proposal Specialist Christine Johns, Senior Director (Academic & International Strategies) Elizabeth Pando, Program Proposal Specialist Jessica Revington, Program Proposal Specialist Kelly Kay Spurlock, Analyst, Planning and Reviews