

## General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

Location: AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom

Zoom Meeting ID: 918 2064 2316
Passcode: APPC

March 11, 2024, 3:00-4:00 p.m.

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Traditional Land Acknowledgment	Yates/	Verbal	
		Johnston		3:00 pm
	Approval of the Agenda	Yates/	Document	
		Johnston		
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Yates/	Verbal	3:05 pm
		Johnston		
Action	Items			
3.	Approval of the February 26, 2024 Meeting Minutes	Yates/	Document	3:10 pm
		Johnston		
4.	Approval of the Addition of a Practical Experience Requirement	Rosehart/	Document	3:15 pm
	(PER) to the Graduation Requirements for Engineering Majors	Singh		
Discus	sion Items			
5.	APPC Mid-Year Member Survey Results	McVie	Document	3:40 pm
Inform	nation Items			
6.	Program Approvals Status Report	In-Package	Document	-
		Only		
7.	Subcommittee Reports	In-Package	Document	-
	<ul><li>a. Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee (Feb. 14, 2024)</li><li>b. Calendar and Curriculum Subcommittee (Feb. 15, 2024)</li></ul>	Only		
8.	Other Business	Yates/	Verbal	3:50 pm
٥.	Other business	Johnston	VELDAI	3.30 piii
		Joiniston		
9.	Adjournment	Yates/	Verbal	4:00 pm
	Next Meeting: March 25, 2024	Johnston		

## **MEMBERSHIP & ATTENDANCE**

GFC ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE					
Name	Appointment Type	Position/Membership	Term	Attendance (*virtual)	
Voting Members				•	
Robin Yates	Co-Chair	Deputy Provost	ex-officio		
Dawn Johnston	Academic Co-Chair	Faculty of Arts	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Mark Bauer	GFC Member appointed by GFC	Faculty of Science	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Cydnee Seneviratne	Executive Committee	Faculty of Nursing	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026		
Marjan Eggermont	Academic staff member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	Schulich School of Engineering	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC)		ex-officio		
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair of the Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC)		ex-officio		
Shawna Cunningham	Acting Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement		ex-officio		
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion		ex-officio		
Kristin Baetz	Appointed by Deans' Council	Faculty of Science	Aug. 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	Appointed by the Students' Union (SU)	President, SU	May 1, 2023 – April 30, 2024		
Kirsten Neprily	Appointed by the Graduate Students' Association (GSA)	Vice-President Academic, GSA	May 1, 2023 – April 30, 2024		
Non-Voting Member	ers				
Vacant	Designate of the Deputy Provost		_	_	
Justine Wheeler	Representative of The Faculty Association of the University of Calgary (TUCFA)		March 1, 2024 – June 30, 2024	-	
Melanie Zimmer	Representative of the Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE)		July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024		
Hannah Ashton	Representative of the Management and Professional Staff (MaPS)		July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025		
Secretariat Staff					
<b>Courtney McVie</b>	University Secretary				
Michelle Speta Scribe					
Resource Personne	el				
Christine Johns Senior Director, Program Innovation and Planning					

Observers					
Elizabeth Pando	Program Innovation Partner, Provost's Office				
Kelly Hoglund	Program Innovation Partner, Provost's Office				
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning and Reviews, Provost's Office				
Jessica Revington	Program Proposal Assistant, Provost's Office				
Jaclyn Carter	Educational Development Consultant, Taylor Institute				
Guests					
Wendy Benoit	Co-Chair of Academic Program Subcommittee – attending for Item 4				
Bill Rosehart	Dean, Schulich School of Engineering – attending for Item 4				
Meera Singh	Senior Associate Dean, Schulich School of Engineering – attending for Item 4				
Emily Marasco	Associate Dean, EDIA, Schulich School of Engineering – attending for Item 4				
Jenny Cruickshank	Director, Business Operations, Schulich School of Engineering – attending for Item 4				