

General Faculties Council ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

Location: AD 167 (Governors Boardroom)/Zoom Zoom Meeting ID: <u>918 2064 2316</u> Passcode: APPC

Monday, September 25, 2023, 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time		
4	Territorial Acknowledgment	Yates/Johnston	Verbal	2:00 pm		
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Yates/Johnston	Document	2.00 pm		
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chairs	Yates/Johnston	Verbal	2:05 pm		
3.	Committee Specific Orientation	Yates/Johnston/ McVie	Verbal	2:20 pm		
Discus	ssion Item					
4.	Cumming School of Medicine (CSM) Unit Review	Yates/Anderson	Document	2:50 pm		
Action Items						
5.	Approval of the June 5, 2023 and June 16, 2023 Meeting Minutes	Yates/Johnston	Document	3:10 pm		
6.	Appointment of One Academic Staff Member to the CCS	Yates/McVie	Document	3:15 pm		
Discus	ssion Items					
7.	Operational Plan – Academic Plan	Yates	Verbal	3:30 pm		
Information Items						
8.	University Calendar Update (Coursedog)	Dambrowitz/ McLeod	Presentation	3:40 pm		
9.	Status of Program Approvals Report	In-Package Only	Document	-		
10.	Annual Non-credit Programs Report - Continuing Education	In-Package Only	Document	-		
11.	Other Business	Yates/Johnston	Verbal	3:50 pm		
12.	Adjournment	Yates/Johnston	Verbal	4:00 pm		
	Next Meeting: October 16, 2023					

ATTENDANCE

GFC ACADEMIC PL	Quorum = 7			
Name	Membership (Position)	Appointment Type	Term	Attendance/ Notes
Voting Members				
Robin Yates	Co-Chair (Deputy Provost)	Ex-officio, designate of the Provost	n/a	
Dawn Johnston	Academic Co-Chair (Associate Dean, Teaching, Learning and Student Engagement, Faculty of Arts)	Named and appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	GFC Member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Cydnee Seneviratne	Associate Professor (Teaching), Faculty of Nursing	GFC Member appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2026	First Meeting
Marjan Eggermont	Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	Appointed by GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Barbara Brown	Academic Co-Chair of the Teaching and Learning Committee	Ex-officio	n/a	
Sheri Madigan	Academic Co-Chair of the Research and Scholarship Committee	Ex-officio	n/a	First Meeting
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Deans' Council	Aug. 30, 2022 – June 30, 2025	
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	President, Students' Union	Appointed by the Students' Union	May 1, 2023– April 30, 2024	
Kirsten Neprily	Vice-President External, Graduate Students' Association	Appointed by the Graduate Students' Association	May 1, 2023– April 30, 2024	
Shawna Cunningham	Acting Vice-Provost, Indigenous Engagement	Ex-officio	n/a	First Meeting
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion	Ex-officio	n/a	
Non-Voting Memb	ers			
Vacant	Vacant	Designate of the Deputy Provost	_	-
Leighton Wilks	The Faculty Association of the University of Calgary (TUCFA) Representative	Appointed by TUCFA	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Melanie Zimmer	Alberta Union of Provincial Employees (AUPE) Representative	Appointed by AUPE	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024	
Hannah Ashton	Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) Representative	Appointed by MaPS	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	

Secretariat Staff						
Courtney McVie	University Secretary					
Michelle Speta	Scribe					
Resource Personnel						
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Innovation and Planning					
Observers						
Kelly Hoglund	Partner, Program Innovation					
Elizabeth Pando	Partner, Program Innovation					
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning and Reviews					
Guests						
Amy Dambrowitz	Registrar	Item 9				
Kimberley	Associate Registrar and Director, Systems & Policy	Item 9				
McLeod						
Todd Anderson	Dean, Cumming School of Medicine	Item 5				