

## **General Faculties Council**

## ACADEMIC PLANNING AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE AGENDA

June 16, 2023, 2:00 – 4:00 p.m.

Zoom

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
1.	Approval of the Agenda	Werthner	Document	2:00
2.	Remarks of the Co-Chair and Academic Co-Chair	Werthner/Beattie	Verbal	2:05
	Action Items			
3.	Approval of the Creation of the Specialization in Biostatistics within the course-based Master of Science (MSc) in Mathematics and Statistics	Yates/Deardon/Kopciuk	Document	2:10
4.	A. Approval of the Restructuring of the Master of Engineering in Biomedical Engineering from Thesis-based to Coursebased	Yates/Kallos/Priest	Document	2:30
	B. Approval of the Termination of the thesis- based Master of Engineering in Biomedical Engineering			
5.	Approval of the Creation of the Indigenous Pathway Program within the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape	Turpin/Brown		2:50
6.	Approval of Changes to the Undergraduate Admission Sections of the University Calendar	Turpin/de Roaldes	Document	3:05
7.	Approval of the Changes to Academic Regulations: M.1. Supporting Documentation and the Use of a Statutory Declaration	Turpin	Document	3:25
	Information Items			
8.	New University Calendar Software: CourseDog Update	McLeod	PowerPoint	3:45

Item	Description	Presenter(s)	Materials	Estimated Time
9.	Report of the Graduate Academic Program Subcommittee May 23, 2022 Meeting	In-Package Only	Document	-
10.	Other Business	Werthner	Verbal	3:55
11.	Adjournment Next meeting: June 19, 2023 TBC (Zoom)	Werthner	Verbal	

## **ATTENDANCE**

Name	Membership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	Attendance/No
Ivaille	Wembership (position)	Appointment Type	Term(s)	tes
Voting – Quorum 7				
Penny Werthner	Co-Chair (Interim Provost and Vice-President Academic)	ex-officio	n/a	Confirmed
Tara Beattie	Academic Co-Chair (Associate Dean. Graduate Science Education, Cumming School of Medicine)	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2024	Confirmed
Kristin Baetz	Dean, Faculty of Science	Appointed by Deans' Council	August 30, 2022- June 30, 2025	Confirmed
Mark Bauer	Associate Professor, Faculty of Science	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee, as a GFC member	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	Confirmed
Barbara Brown	Associate Professor, Werklund School of Education	ex-officio, Academic Co- Chair, Teaching and Learning Committee	Feb 23, 2022 – June 30, 2023	Confirmed
Marjan Eggermont	Professor (Teaching), Schulich School of Engineering	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	Regrets
Michael Hart	Vice-Provost (Indigenous Engagement)	ex-officio	n/a	Regrets
Shaziah Jinnah Morsette	Students' Union (SU) Representative (SU President)	Appointed by the SU	May 1, 2023– April 30, 2024	Regrets
Dawn Johnston	Faculty of Arts	appointed by the GFC Executive Committee	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	Confirmed
Kirsten Neprily	Graduate Students' Association (GSA) Representative (Vice- President Academic, GSA)	Appointed by the GSA	May 1, 2023– April 30, 2024	Confirmed
Malinda Smith	Vice-Provost (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion)	ex-officio	n/a	Confirmed
Dora Tam	Professor, Social Work	ex-officio, Academic Co- Chair, Research and Scholarship Committee	July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2023	Regrets
Non-Voting				
Hannah Ashton	Management and Professional Staff (MaPS) Representative	Appointed by MaPS	July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2025	Confirmed

David Stewart	President of the University of	Appointed by the	July 1, 2020 –	Regrets
	Calgary Faculty Association	Faculty Association	June 30, 2023	
Melanie Zimmer	Alberta Union of Provincial	Appointed by AUPE	July 1, 2021 –	Confirmed
	Employees (AUPE)		June 30, 2024	
	Representative			
Secretariat Staff				
Courtney McVie	University Secretary			
Cherie Tutt	Scribe			
Resource Personnel				
Kelly Hoglund	Partner, Program Innovation			
Christine Johns	Senior Director, Program Innovation & Planning			
Elizabeth Pando	Partner, Program Innovation			
Karen Quinn	Analyst, Planning and Reviews			
Jessica Revington	Program Proposal Assistant, Pr	ogram Innovation		
Invited Guests				
Robin Yates	Vice-Provost and Dean (Graduate Studies) and Co-Chair of the Graduate			Items 3 & 4
	Academic Program Subcommittee			
Rob Deardon	Associate Professor, Biostatistics, Department of Mathematics and Statistics			
Karen Kopciuk	Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics			Item 3
Michael Kallos	Professor and Head, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Schulich			Item 4
	School of Engineering			
Jeff Priest	Assistant Dean MEng, Schulich School of Engineering			Item 4
Manife Towns	Mina Dunasak Ci. da da 5	and Co Chair Sub- C	landari and Cordo I	lb 7
Verity Turpin	Vice-Provost Student Experience Subcommittee	te and co-chair of the Ca	liendar and Curriculum	Items 5 - 7
John Brown				Item 5
John Brown Sarah Ha	Dean, School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape			
Saidii ∏d	Undergraduate Program Specialist   School of Architecture, Planning and			Item 5
Jennifer de Roaldes	Landscape (SAPL)  Associate Pogistrar Information, Admissions and Pogruitment			Item 6
Amy Dambrowitz	Associate Registrar, Information, Admissions and Recruitment Registrar			Item 7
Leslie Reid	Vice-Provost Teaching and Learning		Item 7	
Kimberly McLeod	Associate Registrar & Director, Systems and Policy		Item 8	
Killiberry Wickeou	Associate Registral & Director,	Systems and Policy		itelli o
Observers				